Research Help

Members of the Reference Department are available to help you learn about legal research and legal resources.  There are a variety of means that you can use to contact the reference librarians:

Email: reference.law@yale.edu

Phone: 203-432-1606;

Text Message/SMS: 203-936-9253

 or by filling out the appointment request form below.  

You can also visit a librarian at the Reference Desk. The Reference Desk is on the right as you enter the main Reading Room on the third floor of the Law School.  Services are available to YLS faculty, staff, students and alumni during normal Reference hours (see schedule here ), though IM and Text service may not always be available during these times.

Appointment Request

Contact a Reference Librarian

Drew Adan
Faculty Services Assistant
Room 306B (L3)
drew.adan@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0139
Margaret Chisholm
Reference Librarian and Lecturer in Legal Research
Room 027 (L2)
margaret.chisholm@yale.edu
Phone: 432-8153, 432-1606
(fax) 203-432-2112
Ryan Harrington
Head of Foreign and International Law and Lecturer in Legal Research
Room 0005 (L1)
ryan.harrington@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-7371
Jordan Jefferson
Coordinating Librarian for Reference Services and Lecturer in Legal Research
Room 312 (L3)
jordan.a.jefferson@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-8542
Julie Graves Krishnaswami
Head of Instruction and Lecturer in Legal Research
Room 308 (L3)
julie.krishnaswami@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-7934
Evelyn Ma
Reference Librarian for Foreign and International Law and Lecturer in Legal Research
Room 0004 (L1)
evelyn.ma@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-7120
John Nann
Associate Librarian for Reference & Instructional Services and Lecturer in Legal Research
Room 314A (L3)
john.nann@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1259
Sarah Ryan
Head of Empirical Legal Research Services & Lecturer in Legal Research
Room 307 (L3)
sarah.ryan@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-9253
Michael VanderHeijden
Head of Faculty Services and Lecturer in Legal Research
Room 309 (L3)
michael.vanderheijden@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-4367