arbitration Guide
If you are seeing this text it means a librarian has not created and introduction to this particular research guide. But there may be resources available on this topic. Click on the tabs below to check for resources that may help you get started on your research.
If you have any questions, comments, or concerns about our research guides please contact a reference librarian at lawref@pantheon.yale.edu or the library webmaster at lawlib.webmaster@yale.edu.
Research Guides
Appeals Mechanism in International Investment Disputes
Ed. by Karl P. Sauvant ; with Michael Chiswick-Patterson
Arbitration and Mediation in the ACP-EU Relations
Association for International Arbitration (ed.)
Arbitration rules -- International institutions : guides to international arbitration
By Loukas Mistelis, Laurence Shore, Stavros Brekoulakis, general editors ; Hans Smit, founding editor
Arbitration Under International Investment Agreements : a Guide to the Key Issues
Edited by Katia Yannaca-Small
Bias Challenges in International Commercial Arbitration : the Need for a 'Real Danger' Test
By Sam Luttrell
Building the Civilization of Arbitration
Ed. Thomas E. Carbonneau and Angelica M. Sinopole
Confidentiality in international commercial arbitration : a comparative analysis of the position under English, US, German and French law
By Kyriaki Noussia
Cross-border insolvency : a commentary on the UNCITRAL model law
General editor Look Chan Ho
Digest of International Law -- Moore
Full Title: Digest of International Law as Embodied in Diplomatic Discussions, Treaties and other International Agreements, International Awards, the Decisions of Municipal Courts, and the Writings of Jurists, and Especially in Documents, Published and Unpublished, Issued by Presidents and Secretaries of State of the United States, the Opinions of the Attorneys-General, and the Decisions of Courts, Federal and State.
Vols. 1-8 (1906).
Due process in international commercial arbitration
By Matti S. Kurkela , Santtu Turunen, and Conflict Management Institute (COMI)
Enforcement of arbitration agreements and international arbitral awards : the New York Convention in practice
By Emmanuel Gaillard and Domenico di Pietro (eds); reference editor, Nanou Leleu-Knobil
French arbitration law and practice : a dynamic civil law approach to international arbitration
By Jean-Louis Delvolvé, Gerald H. Pointon, Jean Rouche
Handbook of ICC arbitration : commentary, precedents, materials
By Michael W. Bühler and Thomas H. Webster
International arbitration and mediation : a practical guide
By Michael McIlwrath, John Savage
International arbitration checklists
ed. by Hanessian, Grant and Lawrence W. Newman; Nicole Dolenz-Extale, associate editor; Baker & McKenzie, International Dispute Resolution Practice Group - UES.
International commercial arbitration : United States doctrinal developments and American style discovery
By Pedro J. Martinez-Fraga ; prologue by Michael H. Graham
International commercial arbitration and the arbitrator's contract
By Emilia Onyema
International commercial arbitration in New York
Eds. James H. Carter & John Fellas
International investment arbitration : substantive principles
By Campbell McLachlan, Laurence Shore, Matthew Weiniger.
International investment protection and arbitration : theoretical and practical perspectives
By Christian Tietje
International Legal Materials
Search ASIL's compilation of international laws, treaties, decisions, and declarations on Westlaw (database: ILM), Lexis (file-name: ILM), and HeinOnline. American Society of International Law, Washington, DC, 1962-Present.
Jurisdiction and arbitration clauses in maritime transport documents : a comparative analysis
By Felix Sparka
L'arbitrato nel commercio e negli investimenti internazionali
"Arbitration in international trade and investment"
By Piero Bernardini
National Arbitration Laws : Guides to International Arbitration
By Loukas Mistelis, Laurence Shore, general editors ; Hans Smit, founding editor
Practitioner's Handbook on International Commercial Arbitration
Ed. by Frank-Bernd Weigand
Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards : a Global Commentary on the New York Convention
By Herbert Kronke et al.
Restatement of the law, third, the U.S. law of international commercial arbitration. Tentative draft, No. 1 (March 29, 2010) / the American Law Institute
"Submitted by the Council to the Members of the American Law Institute for consideration at the Eighty-Seventh Annual Meeting on May 17, 18, and 19, 2010."
Sourcebook of international arbitration : (Switzerland)
Ed. by Michael Schöll in cooperation with Tamara Hochuli
State Liability in Investment Treaty Arbitration : Global Constitutional and Administrative Law in the BIT Generation
By Santiago Montt
Substantive Law in Investment Treaty Arbitration : the Unsettled Relationship Between International Law and Municipal Law
Upper East Side
The 2005 Hague Convention on Choice of Court Agreements : commentary and documents
By Ronald A. Brand, Paul Herrup
The Art of Advocacy in International Arbitration
ed. by Bishop, R. Doak and Edward G. Kehoe (2010) - UES
The Expropriation of Environmental Governance : Protecting Foreign Investors at the Expense of Public Policy
By Kyla Tienhaara
The Future of Investment Arbitration
Edited by Catherine A. Rogers, Roger P. Alford
The ICSID convention : A Commentary: A Commentary on the Convention on the settlement of Investment Disputes Between States and Nationals of Other States
By Christoph H. Schreuer
The Permanent Court of Arbitration Summaries of Awards 1999-2009
ed. by MacMahon, Belinda and Fedelma Claire Smith - New Books Display
The World Arbitration Reporter : International Encyclopaedia of Arbitration Law and Practice
by Loukas Mistelis, Laurence Shore, general editors ; Hans Smit, founding editor
Digest of International Law -- Moore
Full Title: Digest of International Law as Embodied in Diplomatic Discussions, Treaties and other International Agreements, International Awards, the Decisions of Municipal Courts, and the Writings of Jurists, and Especially in Documents, Published and Unpublished, Issued by Presidents and Secretaries of State of the United States, the Opinions of the Attorneys-General, and the Decisions of Courts, Federal and State.
Vols. 1-8 (1906).
Global Arbitration Review
One of the leading sources of information for international arbitration professionals, our subscription includes access to the digital GAR journal; the GAR website also provides news, surveys, and interviews (Yale network access only).
HeinOnline United Nations Law Collection
Complete scanned pdfs of the United Nation Treaty Series (UNTS); retrieve a UN Treaty by UNTS citation, search by treaty/registration number, country, short title, popular name, subject; links to law review articles that cite a UN Treaty; finding aids, quick reference guide, wiki, and video tutorial; also find international arbitral awards, law of the sea documents, and more.*
International Investment Claims: ORIL
With over 300 awards at launch and more being added regularly, the International Investment Claims module makes it possible for the first time to search this growing and influential body of jurisprudence alongside other areas of international law.
International Legal Materials
Search ASIL's compilation of international laws, treaties, decisions, and declarations on Westlaw (database: ILM), Lexis (file-name: ILM), and HeinOnline. American Society of International Law, Washington, DC, 1962-Present.
Investment Arbitration Reporter
A news and analysis service focusing on cross-border lawsuits between foreign investors and their host governments; specializes in tracking and chronicling so-called investor-state arbitrations, which are often-confidential in nature, but may have major financial, legal and policy impacts (Yale access only).
Investment Claims: OUP
OUP's resource for materials and analysis in the field of international investment law and arbitration; contains awards you may not find in ICSID Reports and database (Yale access only).
Kluwer Arbitration
Kluwer Arbitration offers worldwide coverage of commercial and investment arbitration; includes case law, commentary, conventions, legislation and rules.
Kluwer Law International Journals
A variety of business, arbitration, environmental, tax, and trade law titles (Yale access only).
Reports of International Arbitral Awards (RIAA)
This United Nations publication is a collection of mediation and conciliation agreements and arbitral awards published in English and/or French; searchable full-text
Transnational Dispute Management
TDM is an international commercial arbitration legal and regulatory journal (articles, studies, newsletter) and database (Knowledgebank - modern energy laws, arbitral awards, treaties, voluntary guidelines). You can also join the OGEMID (oil, gas, energy, mining, infrastructure) listserv and browse its archives.*
WorldTradeLaw
Comprehensive source of WTO dispute settlements including index, database of dispute settlement tables and statistics, and summary and analysis of all reports and arbitrations.*
Digest of International Law -- Whiteman
Vols. 1-15 (June 1963-1973).
Annual Report / International Centre For Settlement Of Investment Disputes
Contemporary Asia Arbitration Journal
Taipei : Arbitration Association of the Republic of China : National Taiwan University Press : Asian Center for WTO & International Health Law and Policy, College of Law, National Taiwan University; semiannual
Croatian Arbitration Yearbook
Zagreb: Croatian Chamber of Commerce Permanent Arbitration Court
Emory International Law Review
Previous title: Emory Journal of International Dispute Resolution
International arbitration law review
International Centre for the Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID)
This World Bank website offers resources for conciliation and arbitration of international investment disputes, including copies of awards and decisions. Cases are also available in print - UES.
Journal of International Arbitration
Mealey's international arbitration quarterly law review
Mealey's International Arbitration Report
Continues International Arbitration Report
News and Notes from the Institute for Transnational Arbitration
Reports of International Arbitral Awards (RIAA)
This United Nations publication is a collection of mediation and conciliation agreements and arbitral awards published in English and/or French; searchable full-text
The American Review of International Arbitration
Published by Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law, Columbia University
The ICC International Court of Arbitration bulletin
World Arbitration & Mediation Report
Arab Association for International Arbitration
The Arab Association for International Arbitration was established in Paris in 1991 during a meeting between arbitrators and law practitioners from the entire Arab world in order to set rules for cooperation among them to protect the Arab trade sector which resort to arbitration. The Association intended to prepare Arab elites for being involved, as arbitrators and counsels, in the issues of international Arab arbitration, especially after arbitration has become vital for trade and international investment, where it has proven its success and efficiency in settling international commercial disputes quickly ensuring a familiar and friendly climate for the parties to the disputes.
Arbitration Center of the Official Franco-German Chamber of Commerce and Industry
Arbitration Institute of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce (SCC)
The SCC is part of, but independent from, the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce and was established in 1917. The SCC has a Board and a Secretariat. The SCC provides efficient dispute resolution services.
The SCC was recognized in the 1970's by the United States and the Soviet Union as a neutral centre for the resolution of East West trade disputes, and the SCC has since expanded its services in international commercial arbitration. In recent years the number of cases filed with the SCC has increased considerably and the SCC has emerged as one of the most important and frequently used arbitration institutions worldwide.
Today the SCC caseload includes both domestic and international arbitration cases. About 50 per cent of the cases are international in the sense that they involve at least one non-Swedish party.
ASA Bulletin
ASIL's Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law
Includes guides for Human Rights, International Commercial Arbitration, International Criminal Law, International Economic Law, International Environmental Law, International Intellectual Property Law, International Organizations, Private International Law, Treaties, and United Nations.
Cairo Regional Centre for International Commercial Arbitration (CRCICA)
CRCICA is an International Organization operating in Egypt since 1979 by dint of an international agreement signed between the Egyptian Government and the Asian African Legal Consultative Organization (having more than 45 member-states).
China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC) Arbitration Center
The China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC) is one of the major permanent arbitration institutions in the world. Formerly known as the Foreign Trade Arbitration Commission, the CIETAC was set up in April 1956 under the China Council for the Promotion of International Trade (CCPIT). The CIETAC independently and impartially resolves economic and trade disputes by means of arbitration.
Contains materials in English and Chinese with respect to major Chinese arbitration organizations
CISG and International Commercial Law Database
The United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG) is the uniform international sales law of countries that account for two-thirds of all world trade. As a service to the world trade community, the Pace University School of Law offers an annotated electronic library on the CISG on the World-Wide Web.
Court of Arbitration for Sport / Tribunal Arbitral du Sport
The Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS; French: Tribunal Arbitral du Sport or TAS) is an international arbitration body set up to settle disputes related to sport
ECOSOC: UN Agencies
UN Economic and Social Council - list of UN Specialized Agencies
Inter-American Commercial Arbitration Commission
The Inter-American Commercial Arbitration Commission has established, maintains, and administers throughout the Western Hemisphere a system for settlement, by arbitration or conciliation, of international commercial disputes. The system includes National Sections or Representatives in almost all countries in the Western Hemisphere. Where no such National Section or Representative exists, the Commission performs all activities that would otherwise be performed by a National Section.
International Centre for the Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID)
This World Bank website offers resources for conciliation and arbitration of international investment disputes, including copies of awards and decisions. Cases are also available in print - UES.
International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)
ICC makes model codes, rules, and contracts to regulate conduct in transnational business. It has a variety of publications on its website on the issues in this area including arbitration decisions.
International Commercial Arbitration Research Guide
Online guides to researching international commercial arbitration.
Iran-United States Claims Tribunal
The Iran-United States Claims Tribunal came into existence as one of the measures taken to resolve the crisis in relations between the Islamic Republic of Iran and the United States of America arising out of the detention of 52 United States nationals at the United States Embassy in Tehran which commenced in November 1979, and the subsequent freeze of Iranian assets by the United States of America.
The Government of the Democratic and Popular Republic of Algeria served as intermediary in the search for a mutually acceptable solution. Having consulted extensively with the two Governments as to the commitments which each was willing to undertake in order to resolve the crisis, the Government of Algeria recorded those commitments in two Declarations made on 19 January 1981. The "General Declaration" and the "Claims Settlement Declaration" or the "Algiers Declarations," as they are often called, were then adhered to by Iran and the United States.
Kuala Lumpur Regional Centre for Arbitration (KLRCA)
The Kuala Lumpur Regional Centre for Arbitration (KLRCA) was established in 1978 under the auspices of the Asian-African Legal Consultative Organisation (AALCO). It was the first regional centre established by AALCO in Asia to provide institutional support as a neutral and independent venue for the conduct of domestic and international arbitration proceedings in Asia.
London Court of International Arbitration (LCIA)
The London Court of International Arbitration (LCIA) is universally recognised as one of the world's leading arbitral institutions.
The LCIA provides efficient, flexible and impartial administration of arbitration and of a wide range of other ADR procedures, regardless of the location of the parties, and under any system of law.
Reports of International Arbitral Awards (RIAA)
This United Nations publication is a collection of mediation and conciliation agreements and arbitral awards published in English and/or French; searchable full-text
Research Guide for International Commercial and Investment Arbitration
International Law Institute - Alternative Dispute Resolution Center's guide to researching international commercial and investment arbitration.
The Arbitration Database
Find .pdf copies of awards, decisions, and practice material related to international arbitration.
The Art of Advocacy in International Arbitration
ed. by Bishop, R. Doak and Edward G. Kehoe (2010) - UES
UNCTAD Index
UN Conference on Trade and Development - find the Trade and Development Index (TDI), digital library, statistical databases, and other tools.
University of Victoria -- Investment Treaty Arbitration
Provides access to all publicly available investment treaty awards; information and resources relating to investment treaties and investment treaty arbitration; and links to further resources.
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations. It is dedicated to developing a balanced and accessible international intellectual property (IP) system, which rewards creativity, stimulates innovation and contributes to economic development while safeguarding the public interest.
Based in Geneva, Switzerland, the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center was established in 1994 to offer Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) options, in particular arbitration and mediation, for the resolution of international commercial disputes between private parties. Developed by leading experts in cross-border dispute settlement, the procedures offered by the Center are widely recognized as particularly appropriate for technology, entertainment and other disputes involving intellectual property.






