case law Guide

If you are seeing this text it means a librarian has not created and introduction to this particular research guide. But there may be resources available on this topic. Click on the tabs below to check for resources that may help you get started on your research.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns about our research guides please contact a reference librarian at lawref@pantheon.yale.edu or the library webmaster at lawlib.webmaster@yale.edu.

Research Guides

Atlantic Reporter
West Pub. Co. - all decisions in Connecticut beginning with v. 53, Conn. Supp. beginning v.19, Conn. App. and Conn. Cir. - L5
Cases and Materials on the Death Penalty
Rivkind, Nina (2009) - L4
Connecticut Appellate Reports
Decisions of the CT Supreme Court - L3 Reading Room
Connecticut Law Reporter
1990-current - full text of selected decisions of Connecticut Superior Court - L3 Reading Room
Connecticut Opinions
2001-current - L3 Reading Room
Connecticut Reports
Decisions of the CT Supreme Court - L3 Reading Room
Connecticut Superior Law Reports
1986-present - full text of cases summarized in Connecticut Law Tribune - LES
Connecticut Supplement
Selected memoranda from Superior Court, Court of Common Pleas - L3 Reading Room
Foreign Law Guide
Great background information into every country's history and legal system. Also listed in the Country-by-Country Guide above. FLG is a comprehensive list of primary and secondary sources in print and on the Internet. This is the electronic version of Foreign Law: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World - Z675.L2 A23 no. 33 - L1 - F/I Reference - (*database available via Yale network only)
International Legal Materials
Search ASIL's compilation of international laws, treaties, decisions, and declarations on Westlaw (database: ILM), Lexis (file-name: ILM), and HeinOnline. American Society of International Law, Washington, DC, 1962-Present.
Connecticut Law Tribune
Electronic access via Factiva (2001-6 months ago) - click on +Source, then search for title, then Add Title by clicking on the triangle, then search for document; print available for the last two years in the L3 Reading Room - selected decisions in Superior Court and Court of Common Pleas
Foreign Law Guide
Great background information into every country's history and legal system. Also listed in the Country-by-Country Guide above. FLG is a comprehensive list of primary and secondary sources in print and on the Internet. This is the electronic version of Foreign Law: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World - Z675.L2 A23 no. 33 - L1 - F/I Reference - (*database available via Yale network only)
International Legal Materials
Search ASIL's compilation of international laws, treaties, decisions, and declarations on Westlaw (database: ILM), Lexis (file-name: ILM), and HeinOnline. American Society of International Law, Washington, DC, 1962-Present.
Lexis on Unofficial Case Law Reporters
Westlaw on Unofficial Case Law Reporters
Connecticut Law Journal
Weekly loose-leaf providing "advance" access to the Connecticut Reporters, the Connecticut Appellate Reports, and the Connecticut Supplement; includes final regulations and notices of intent to adopt regulations - L3 Reading Room (most recent issue) and LES
Connecticut Law Tribune
Electronic access via Factiva (2001-6 months ago) - click on +Source, then search for title, then Add Title by clicking on the triangle, then search for document; print available for the last two years in the L3 Reading Room - selected decisions in Superior Court and Court of Common Pleas
(2009)
Connecticut Law Tribune
Electronic access via Factiva (2001-6 months ago) - click on +Source, then search for title, then Add Title by clicking on the triangle, then search for document; print available for the last two years in the L3 Reading Room - selected decisions in Superior Court and Court of Common Pleas
Cornell's Legal Information Institute
(U.S. Code, Federal Rules, USSC cases, and more)
Country-by-Country Guide to Foreign Law Research
Portal to research guides and major databases for every country; these research guides vary from explanatory legal system guides to lists of legal resource links; includes links to the Foreign Law Guide, the World Legal Information Institute, and other portals and foreign legal research guides.
Decision of the Day
A daily summary of the best (and worst) of federal appellate decisions
Global Legal Information Network (GLIN)
Law Library of Congress' public database of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations - official documents in original language with some English translations.
GlobaLex
In-depth legal research guides in foreign, comparative, and international law
HLS
Harvard's lists of links to foreign law online sources including legislation and legislative bodies
LLRX
In-depth legal research guides that cover different aspects of foreign and comparative law.
Nations of the World
Library of Congress' lists of web links.
SCOTUS blog
Supreme Court of the United States blog