China Guide

If you are seeing this text it means a librarian has not created and introduction to this particular research guide. But there may be resources available on this topic. Click on the tabs below to check for resources that may help you get started on your research.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns about our research guides please contact a reference librarian at lawref@pantheon.yale.edu or the library webmaster at lawlib.webmaster@yale.edu.

Research Guides

An Introduction to the Legal System of the People's Republic of China
Chen, Albert Hung-Yee (1998) - LES
China Business Review
The official magazine of the US-China Business Council offers news and commentaries on Chinese trade and business deveopment. 2001-present - UES. Now Available in Westlaw and V-Lex.
China Law and Practice
The online newsletter has new business law an regulations updates and law archive. In English. The library has print subscription 1989-2012 (UES). The library no longer has an active subscription to the resource but selective contents are available in Westlaw.
China Academic Journals
Searchable in English & Chinese; full text articles in Chinese only
China Business Review
The official magazine of the US-China Business Council offers news and commentaries on Chinese trade and business deveopment. 2001-present - UES. Now Available in Westlaw and V-Lex.
China Data Online
China Lawyer Court Cases Database (Chinese)
PKUlaw (Primarily Chinese )
Law Info China / China Law Info
Formally founded by the Law School at Beijing University. This bilingual database (formerly known as ChinaLawInfo for its Chinese site and LawInfoChina for the English site) provides a up-to-date selection of key Chinese legislation, cases, yearbooks and official pronouncements. Full-text articles for selective Chinese law journals are available. The homepage is in Chinese and English and bilingual contents are searchable in the <English> tab.
LexisNexis China Law Database
The LexisNexis China Law Database is an authoritative collection of Chinese laws, regulations, tax information, judicial decisions, and other legal documents, collected from government sources, and translated by LexisNexis China Online in Beijing.
PKUlaw (Primarily Chinese )
Law Info China / China Law Info
Formally founded by the Law School at Beijing University. This bilingual database (formerly known as ChinaLawInfo for its Chinese site and LawInfoChina for the English site) provides a up-to-date selection of key Chinese legislation, cases, yearbooks and official pronouncements. Full-text articles for selective Chinese law journals are available. The homepage is in Chinese and English and bilingual contents are searchable in the <English> tab.
South China Morning Post
A Hong Kong-based newspaper in English with current news about China and other Asian countries. YLS faculty/students: Check YLS Inside Database Passwords Folder for User ID and password
vLex Global
World-wide legal database containing legislation, jurisprudence, commentary, forms, legal news, and more from many countries (extensiveness of each collection varies) including Spain, France, Germany, Italy, Portugal, Argentina, Colombia, Mexico, Chile (Search in English or the vernacular; materials in the vernacular with some translation capabilities) (Yale access only).
Wan Fang Data - Policies and Laws of China
Policies and Laws of China (in English & Chinese). Primarily Chinese online database covering state and regional laws and regulations of China, selected collection of court cases, administrative documents and texts of treaties. Searching in English is functional but cumbersome. Yale network access.
Westlaw China Database
Comprehensive collection of primary and secondary legal materials relating to Chinese law. In Chinese and English.
National Bureau Statistics of China
China Law and Practice
The online newsletter has new business law an regulations updates and law archive. In English. The library has print subscription 1989-2012 (UES). The library no longer has an active subscription to the resource but selective contents are available in Westlaw.
AsianLII: Laws of the People's Republic of China
The website contains an A to Z list of laws of the PRC derived mainly from government websites ChinaLaw (Information Centre for Legislative Affairs Office of the PRC State Council) and ChinaCourt (Supreme Peoples' Court).
China Academic Journals
Searchable in English & Chinese; full text articles in Chinese only
China Business Review
The official magazine of the US-China Business Council offers news and commentaries on Chinese trade and business deveopment. 2001-present - UES. Now Available in Westlaw and V-Lex.
China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC) Arbitration Center
The China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC) is one of the major permanent arbitration institutions in the world. Formerly known as the Foreign Trade Arbitration Commission, the CIETAC was set up in April 1956 under the China Council for the Promotion of International Trade (CCPIT). The CIETAC independently and impartially resolves economic and trade disputes by means of arbitration. Contains materials in English and Chinese with respect to major Chinese arbitration organizations
China Law and Practice
The online newsletter has new business law an regulations updates and law archive. In English. The library has print subscription 1989-2012 (UES). The library no longer has an active subscription to the resource but selective contents are available in Westlaw.
China Lawyer Court Cases Database (Chinese)
China Legal Resources
Open-access and subscription resources available at the Yale Law Library
PKUlaw (Primarily Chinese )
Law Info China / China Law Info
Formally founded by the Law School at Beijing University. This bilingual database (formerly known as ChinaLawInfo for its Chinese site and LawInfoChina for the English site) provides a up-to-date selection of key Chinese legislation, cases, yearbooks and official pronouncements. Full-text articles for selective Chinese law journals are available. The homepage is in Chinese and English and bilingual contents are searchable in the <English> tab.
National Bureau Statistics of China
PKUlaw (Primarily Chinese )
Law Info China / China Law Info
Formally founded by the Law School at Beijing University. This bilingual database (formerly known as ChinaLawInfo for its Chinese site and LawInfoChina for the English site) provides a up-to-date selection of key Chinese legislation, cases, yearbooks and official pronouncements. Full-text articles for selective Chinese law journals are available. The homepage is in Chinese and English and bilingual contents are searchable in the <English> tab.
The Macau Commercial Code: an English unofficial translation / [translated from Portuguese by Jorge A.F. Gordinho]. Feb. 7, 2010.
This is a full English translation of the Commercial Code of the Macau Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China. The Code was approved in 1999 and was subsequently amended twice: first in 2000 and then again in 2009. The Code is a comprehensive source of commercial law, which however needs to be read together with the Civil Code, given that the latter is the fundamental seat of contract law, civil liability and many other important topics. The Commercial Code is divided in four parts ('Books'): the first is a general part; the second regulates business forms, especially company law; the third regulates a relatively long list of commercial contracts; the final part is on negotiable instruments. Working Paper Series Date posted: January 31, 2010 ; Last revised: February 09, 2010