Criminal Law and Procedure Guide

This research guide provides an overview of the federal criminal law and criminal procedure. 

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns about our research guides please contact a reference librarian at lawref@pantheon.yale.edu or the library webmaster at lawlib.webmaster@yale.edu.

Research Guides

Advanced Criminal Procedure in a Nutshell
Designed for use as supplemental reading in an advanced criminal procedure course on the post-investigation processing of a criminal case. Includes a clear, concise, and thorough narrative explanation of the issues involved in the prosecution and adjudication of a criminal case, from the decision to prosecute and pre-trial release through to sentencing, appeal and collateral attack. Ideal reference for students and practitioners.
Criminal Law in a Nutshell
Gain an overview and develop perspective on the extensive area of criminal law. Organized into eight sections for quick reference. Expert discussion explores punishment, specific crimes, and the ingredients of a crime such as mens rea and actus reus. Features special defenses and the burden of proof. Covers inchoate and group criminality. Also reflects on the limitations of criminal law.
Criminal Procedure
This title analyzes the law governing all major steps in the criminal justice process, beginning with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. All major themes are covered, with emphasis upon those basic issues deemed most significant in the case law and literature. Because of their special importance, leading Supreme Court opinions are given in-depth treatment. 7-volume Criminal Procedure treatise (readily available on Westlaw database CRIMPROC).
Criminal procedure : constitutional limitations in a nutshell
Intended for use by law students of criminal procedure. It is a succinct analysis of the constitutional standards of major current significance. This is not a text on criminal procedure, but rather about constitutional criminal procedure. It avoids describing the non-constitutional standards applied in each state and federally. The text provides the scope and highlights you need to excel in understanding this field. This will enable you to answer exam questions more quickly and accurately, and enhance your skills as an attorney.
Criminal procedure : recent cases analyzed
This book gives the author's analysis of the leading Supreme Court criminal procedure cases from the last seven years. It is drawn from his bi-monthly column from Trial Magazine, the magazine of the Association of Trial Lawyers of America. It provides insight into both the workings of the Supreme Court and how each case fits into the body of criminal procedure law. It covers a range of topics from investigation of criminal cases through habeas corpus review.
Federal Sentencing Law and Practice
A treatise written by Thomas W. Hutchison, Sigmund G. Popko, Peter B. Hoffman, and Deborah Young, which covers the federal sentencing guidelines, including commentary issued by the U.S. Sentencing Commission, annotations, and analysis of the factors used in determining the guideline range, sentence calculations and adjustments, and procedures for plea agreements under the guidelines.
Search and seizure : a treatise on the Fourth Amendment
Professor LaFave interprets and applies the Fourth Amendment in diverse factual situations for developing arguments on search and seizure issues in plea bargaining, trial, and appeal phases of a criminal case.
Searches & seizures, arrests and confessions
Three volume looseleaf work provides practical coverage of current Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Amendment law of criminal procedure. The exclusionary rule, probable cause, searches of vehicles, administrative searches, voluntariness of confessions, suppression of confessions, and many other topics are addressed in this work.
Sourcebook for Criminal Justice Statistics
1973-current - UES; the Sourcebook brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice (including juvenile justice) in the United States. Topics include: criminal justice characteristics; public opinion; types of crime; victims; arrests and seizures; courts, prosecution, sentencing; and parole, jails, prisons and death penalty.
Understanding criminal law
Provides a text for law students and undergraduates taking courses in criminal law and substantive criminal law that considers common law doctrine, statutory reform (with emphasis on the Model Penal Code), and constitutional law affecting the substantive criminal law in the US.
Understanding Criminal Procedure
Understanding Criminal Procedure focuses on the criminal process after the police investigation ends and the adjudicative process commences.
Wharton's Criminal law and procedure
This multi-volume set is the preeminent work on criminal law, providing extensive analysis of all components of this area, from arson to embezzlement to murder to extortion. Both federal and state analysis is provided. The Model Penal Code is discussed in-depth. Updated annually with a cumulative supplement.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Includes a link to BJS publications, which summarizes the movement of prisoners into and out of death sentence status during the year - many stats, including Prisons & Expenditures
Criminal Procedure Resource Guide (National Center for State Courts)
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
NCJRS hosts one of the largest criminal and juvenile justice libraries and databases in the world, the NCJRS Abstracts Database. The collection, with holdings from the early 1970s to the present, contains more than 205,000 publications, reports, articles, and audiovisual products from the United States and around the world. These resources include statistics, research findings, program descriptions, congressional hearing transcripts, and training materials.
United States Attorneys' Manual
A quick and ready reference for United States Attorneys, Assistant United States Attorneys, and Department attorneys responsible for the prosecution of violations of federal law. It contains general policies and some procedures relevant to the work of the United States Attorneys' offices and to their relations with the legal divisions, investigative agencies, and other components within the Department of Justice.
United States Sentencing Commission
Agency establishes sentencing policies and practices for the Federal courts. Contains reports to Congress, publications, Federal sentencing guidelines, etc.
American Criminal Law Review
American Journal of Criminal Law
Articles about Criminal Law
Articles on criminal law - use the facets or the search box on the top to narrow your results by topic. Database is licensed for use from any Yale-networked computer (Yale dialup (PPP), all Yale dormitories and buildings, and VPN/Proxy access).
Articles about Criminal Procedure
Articles on Criminal Procedure - use the facets or the search box on the top to narrow your results by topic. Database is licensed for use from any Yale-networked computer (Yale dialup (PPP), all Yale dormitories and buildings, and VPN/Proxy access).
Articles about International Criminal Law
Articles about international criminal law - use the facets or the search box on the top to narrow your results by topic. Database is licensed for use from any Yale-networked computer (Yale dialup (PPP), all Yale dormitories and buildings, and VPN/Proxy access).
Berkeley Journal of Criminal Law
Criminal Law Bulletin
Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology
Journal of International Criminal Justice
New Criminal Law Review
New England Journal on Criminal & Civil Confinement
Ohio State Journal of Criminal Law
Western Criminology Review
Criminal Law Bulletin
Criminal Law Practice Report
Criminal Practice Report keeps you up-to-date with all of the significant laws, news, and trends in criminal practice.
Criminal Practice Manual
Criminal Practice Manual identifies, for the criminal defense attorney, significant developments and the latest trends in the law, innovative techniques, and successful strategies for winning cases.
Criminal Procedure
This title analyzes the law governing all major steps in the criminal justice process, beginning with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. All major themes are covered, with emphasis upon those basic issues deemed most significant in the case law and literature. Because of their special importance, leading Supreme Court opinions are given in-depth treatment. 7-volume Criminal Procedure treatise (readily available on Westlaw database CRIMPROC).
Federal Sentencing Law and Practice
A treatise written by Thomas W. Hutchison, Sigmund G. Popko, Peter B. Hoffman, and Deborah Young, which covers the federal sentencing guidelines, including commentary issued by the U.S. Sentencing Commission, annotations, and analysis of the factors used in determining the guideline range, sentence calculations and adjustments, and procedures for plea agreements under the guidelines.
Law Library Resources on Criminal Identification
National District Attorneys Association
Penal Law Web
An online digest of American criminal law
Practice under the federal sentencing guidelines
Search and seizure : a treatise on the Fourth Amendment
Professor LaFave interprets and applies the Fourth Amendment in diverse factual situations for developing arguments on search and seizure issues in plea bargaining, trial, and appeal phases of a criminal case.
Search Warrant Law Deskbook
Search Warrant Law Desk book covers the law as it applies to the federal level, all 50 states, DC and Puerto Rico, providing specific details on the application procedure, execution, and return and records procedure.
Sourcebook for Criminal Justice Statistics
1973-current - UES; the Sourcebook brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice (including juvenile justice) in the United States. Topics include: criminal justice characteristics; public opinion; types of crime; victims; arrests and seizures; courts, prosecution, sentencing; and parole, jails, prisons and death penalty.
Wharton's Criminal law and procedure
This multi-volume set is the preeminent work on criminal law, providing extensive analysis of all components of this area, from arson to embezzlement to murder to extortion. Both federal and state analysis is provided. The Model Penal Code is discussed in-depth. Updated annually with a cumulative supplement.