foreign law Guide

If you are seeing this text it means a librarian has not created and introduction to this particular research guide. But there may be resources available on this topic. Click on the tabs below to check for resources that may help you get started on your research.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns about our research guides please contact a reference librarian at lawref@pantheon.yale.edu or the library webmaster at lawlib.webmaster@yale.edu.

Research Guides

Constitutions of the Countries of the World, Constitutions of Dependencies and Territories, Constitutions of the U.S.: National and State
Current and selected historical Constitutions via Oceana - Click on "Connect via IP Access" and select the desired database.
Australasian Legal Information Institute - AustLII
Australian and New Zealand legal database.
Constitutions of the Countries of the World, Constitutions of Dependencies and Territories, Constitutions of the U.S.: National and State
Current and selected historical Constitutions via Oceana - Click on "Connect via IP Access" and select the desired database.
World Constitutions Illustrated
HeinOnline's database contains the current constitution for every country in the world in the original language and English translations where available; also find more than 800 classic books on constitutions, constitutional history and jurisprudence, and political and economic history (Yale access only)
CANLII
Search decisions of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada
Country-by-Country Guide to Foreign Law Research
Portal to research guides and major databases for every country; these research guides vary from explanatory legal system guides to lists of legal resource links; includes links to the Foreign Law Guide, the World Legal Information Institute, and other portals and foreign legal research guides.
Embassies and Consulates
Finding Foreign (non-U.S.) Law...in English, if possible
Findlaw.com
Guide to Foreign and Comparative Law Research at Yale
This document outlines the best approach to starting your foreign law research at Yale; it provides links to the most commonly used and best resources available, many of which are listed elsewhere on this web page.
Hieros Gamos
A comprehensive list of law firms in the PRC searchable by city and area of specialty.
Oceana Online (U.S. treaties)
Southern African Legal Information Institute - SAFLII
SAFLII collects and publishes legal materials from Southern and Eastern Africa including superior court judgments from Botswana, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe, and a consolidated collection of Uganda legislation and Lesotho case law.
Yale's Foreign and International Law Resources
This is more of a portal than a research guide;you can find all of our foreign and international databases on this page, subscription and open-access, including tax websites and a country-by-country guide to finding the laws, cases, and scholarship of countries other than the U.S.