foreign Guide

The Foreign and International Law Collection is located on L1, UES, and LES of the Yale Law School Library. In addition to providing research assistance and instruction to our faculty and students, we collect foreign law (the law of countries other than the United States of America), comparative law (the comparison of law of different jurisdictions), transnational law (law of multi-country organizations, for purposes of this website -- European Union, African Union, etc.) and international law (the law between and among countries -- treaties, agreements, international court decisions, commentary, etc.).

We have a world-renowned international human rights collection, extensive European collections, and quickly-expanding Latin American and Asian collections. We are available to assist you in the F/I office on L1, Monday - Friday, 9am - 5pm.

Research Guides

Foreign Law Guide
Great background information into every country's history and legal system. Also listed in the Country-by-Country Guide above. FLG is a comprehensive list of primary and secondary sources in print and on the Internet. This is the electronic version of Foreign Law: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World - Z675.L2 A23 no. 33 - L1 - F/I Reference - (*database available via Yale network only)
Foreign Law Guide
Great background information into every country's history and legal system. Also listed in the Country-by-Country Guide above. FLG is a comprehensive list of primary and secondary sources in print and on the Internet. This is the electronic version of Foreign Law: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World - Z675.L2 A23 no. 33 - L1 - F/I Reference - (*database available via Yale network only)
Country-by-Country Guide to Foreign Law Research
Portal to research guides and major databases for every country; these research guides vary from explanatory legal system guides to lists of legal resource links; includes links to the Foreign Law Guide, the World Legal Information Institute, and other portals and foreign legal research guides.
European Union Internet Resources
Maintained by University of California Berkeley.
European Union Research Guide
The Duke Law Library collects both primary and secondary materials about the European Union. These materials are accessible through the online catalog.
Guide to Foreign and Comparative Law Research at Yale
This document outlines the best approach to starting your foreign law research at Yale; it provides links to the most commonly used and best resources available, many of which are listed elsewhere on this web page.
International Court of Justice (ICJ)
UN judicial organ at The Hague; includes decisions of the current court and the Permanent Court of International Justice (1922 - 1946).