Japanese law Guide

If you are seeing this text it means a librarian has not created and introduction to this particular research guide. But there may be resources available on this topic. Click on the tabs below to check for resources that may help you get started on your research.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns about our research guides please contact a reference librarian at lawref@pantheon.yale.edu or the library webmaster at lawlib.webmaster@yale.edu.

Research Guides

Birth of the Japanese Constitution
The Japanese National Diet Library website contains the historical archives, drafting and revision history of the Japanese Constitution and all the related documents.
Courts in Japan
Decisions of the Supreme Court and Magistrates, selective cases relating to labor, IP, family law.
Japan Diet (Seitei hōritsu)
Official website of the Japanese Diet with full text of legislations and bills since 1945- . In Japanese only.
Japan E-Gov Portal
Current national and provincial laws, Cabinet orders, and ministry ordinances, statistics are available at the website maintained by the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communication. However, they are not deemed official and are in Japanese only.
Japan Fair Trade Commission website
English translations of selected laws, regulations and decisions relating to trade, antitrust, mergers and acquisitions are available.
Japanese Law Translation
The bilingual website from the Japanese Cabinet Secretariat offers English translations of Japanese laws and regulations. Users can search laws by title and keyword in context in both languages and can also use as an online bilingual Japanese-English dictionary.
Birth of the Japanese Constitution
The Japanese National Diet Library website contains the historical archives, drafting and revision history of the Japanese Constitution and all the related documents.
Courts in Japan
Decisions of the Supreme Court and Magistrates, selective cases relating to labor, IP, family law.
Japan Diet (Seitei hōritsu)
Official website of the Japanese Diet with full text of legislations and bills since 1945- . In Japanese only.
Japan E-Gov Portal
Current national and provincial laws, Cabinet orders, and ministry ordinances, statistics are available at the website maintained by the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communication. However, they are not deemed official and are in Japanese only.
Japan Fair Trade Commission website
English translations of selected laws, regulations and decisions relating to trade, antitrust, mergers and acquisitions are available.
Japanese Law Translation
The bilingual website from the Japanese Cabinet Secretariat offers English translations of Japanese laws and regulations. Users can search laws by title and keyword in context in both languages and can also use as an online bilingual Japanese-English dictionary.
Japanese Law Via the Internet / By Makoto Ibusuki. Revised by Takako Okada, Feb. 2009.
Globalex Research Guide.