Middle East Guide
If you are seeing this text it means a librarian has not created and introduction to this particular research guide. But there may be resources available on this topic. Click on the tabs below to check for resources that may help you get started on your research.
If you have any questions, comments, or concerns about our research guides please contact a reference librarian at lawref@pantheon.yale.edu or the library webmaster at lawlib.webmaster@yale.edu.
Research Guides
Encyclopaedia of Islam
Includes several chapters on Sharia or religious law; bibliography at end of each section (Yale access only).
Encyclopaedia of Judaism
Inlcudes many chapters on Jewish law, the Torah, Covenants, etc.; bibliography at the end of each section (Yale access only).
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an
Includes a chapter on Law of the Qur'an; bibliography at the end (Yale access only).
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures
Includes several chapters on women and the law; bibliography at end of each section (Yale access only).
LAPOP
The open-access Latin American Public Opinion Project surveys and analyzes citizen views on system support, political tolerance, citizen participation, local government, corruption, and views on authoritarianism have been conducted and are now being archived for many Latin American countries plus Albania, Israel, Madagascar, Canada and the United States; datasets are available for Yale affiliates (Yale access only)
vLex Global
World-wide legal database containing legislation, jurisprudence, commentary, forms, legal news, and more from many countries (extensiveness of each collection varies) including Spain, France, Germany, Italy, Portugal, Argentina, Colombia, Mexico, Chile (Search in English or the vernacular; materials in the vernacular with some translation capabilities) (Yale access only).
Institute for Transnational Law
UTexas-Austin's Original and English translations of French, German, Italian, Austrian and Israeli legal materials in the fields of constitutional, administrative, contract and tort law
MEMRI
The Middle East Media Research Institute provides translations of Arabic, Persian, and Turkish media, and original analysis of political, ideological, intellectual, social, cultural, and religious trends in the Middle East






