primary resources Guide

If you are seeing this text it means a librarian has not created and introduction to this particular research guide. But there may be resources available on this topic. Click on the tabs below to check for resources that may help you get started on your research.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns about our research guides please contact a reference librarian at lawref@pantheon.yale.edu or the library webmaster at lawlib.webmaster@yale.edu.

Research Guides

Constitutions of the Countries of the World, Constitutions of Dependencies and Territories, Constitutions of the U.S.: National and State
Current and selected historical Constitutions via Oceana - Click on "Connect via IP Access" and select the desired database.
Foreign Law Guide
Great background information into every country's history and legal system. Also listed in the Country-by-Country Guide above. FLG is a comprehensive list of primary and secondary sources in print and on the Internet. This is the electronic version of Foreign Law: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World - Z675.L2 A23 no. 33 - L1 - F/I Reference - (*database available via Yale network only)
International Legal Materials
Search ASIL's compilation of international laws, treaties, decisions, and declarations on Westlaw (database: ILM), Lexis (file-name: ILM), and HeinOnline. American Society of International Law, Washington, DC, 1962-Present.
Constitutions of the Countries of the World, Constitutions of Dependencies and Territories, Constitutions of the U.S.: National and State
Current and selected historical Constitutions via Oceana - Click on "Connect via IP Access" and select the desired database.
Foreign Law Guide
Great background information into every country's history and legal system. Also listed in the Country-by-Country Guide above. FLG is a comprehensive list of primary and secondary sources in print and on the Internet. This is the electronic version of Foreign Law: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World - Z675.L2 A23 no. 33 - L1 - F/I Reference - (*database available via Yale network only)
International Legal Materials
Search ASIL's compilation of international laws, treaties, decisions, and declarations on Westlaw (database: ILM), Lexis (file-name: ILM), and HeinOnline. American Society of International Law, Washington, DC, 1962-Present.
vLex Global
World-wide legal database containing legislation, jurisprudence, commentary, forms, legal news, and more from many countries (extensiveness of each collection varies) including Spain, France, Germany, Italy, Portugal, Argentina, Colombia, Mexico, Chile (Search in English or the vernacular; materials in the vernacular with some translation capabilities) (Yale access only).
World Constitutions Illustrated
HeinOnline's database contains the current constitution for every country in the world in the original language and English translations where available; also find more than 800 classic books on constitutions, constitutional history and jurisprudence, and political and economic history (Yale access only)
Common Portal of National Case Law
This website provides access to the meta-search engine of National Case Law that was created the Network of the Presidents of the Supreme Judicial Court of the European Union.
Constitutions of the World
This website presents the results and progress of the international research project The Rise of Modern Constitutionalism, 1776 - 1849 by making available to the public all constitutional documents from that era.
Country-by-Country Guide to Foreign Law Research
Portal to research guides and major databases for every country; these research guides vary from explanatory legal system guides to lists of legal resource links; includes links to the Foreign Law Guide, the World Legal Information Institute, and other portals and foreign legal research guides.
Global Legal Information Network (GLIN)
Law Library of Congress' public database of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations - official documents in original language with some English translations.
GlobaLex
In-depth legal research guides in foreign, comparative, and international law
HLS
Harvard's lists of links to foreign law online sources including legislation and legislative bodies
LLRX
In-depth legal research guides that cover different aspects of foreign and comparative law.
Nations of the World
Library of Congress' lists of web links.
UNCTAD Index
UN Conference on Trade and Development - find the Trade and Development Index (TDI), digital library, statistical databases, and other tools.
WorldLII
Lists of links to electronic resources including legislation and legislative bodies
Yale’s F/I Webpage
Consolidation of F/I databases and guides -- check for databases specific to your jurisdiction