Research Guides Guide
If you are seeing this text it means a librarian has not created and introduction to this particular research guide. But there may be resources available on this topic. Click on the tabs below to check for resources that may help you get started on your research.
If you have any questions, comments, or concerns about our research guides please contact a reference librarian at lawref@pantheon.yale.edu or the library webmaster at lawlib.webmaster@yale.edu.
Research Guides
Find it Free and Fast on the Net: Advanced Internet Strategies for the Connecticut Legal Professional
Blake, Julie D. (2005) - L3 Reading Room
Foreign Law Guide
Great background information into every country's history and legal system. Also listed in the Country-by-Country Guide above. FLG is a comprehensive list of primary and secondary sources in print and on the Internet. This is the electronic version of Foreign Law: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World - Z675.L2 A23 no. 33 - L1 - F/I Reference - (*database available via Yale network only)
Probate Jurisdiction and Procedure in Connecticut 2d.
1999 with 2007 updates - has tables with CGS and its own chapters (brief narrative); L3 Reading Room
The Legal System of the People's Republic of China in a Nutshell
Chow, Daniel C. K. (2003) - F&I REF, LES
Foreign Law Guide
Great background information into every country's history and legal system. Also listed in the Country-by-Country Guide above. FLG is a comprehensive list of primary and secondary sources in print and on the Internet. This is the electronic version of Foreign Law: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World - Z675.L2 A23 no. 33 - L1 - F/I Reference - (*database available via Yale network only)
International Investment Arbitration & Public Policy
The site offers open access to research and data on international investment arbitration. This powerful form of international arbitration has become a matter of public debate and research interest as more countries have been sued, especially in the developing world, by companies under investment treaties.
Includes access to a database of known arbitration cases decided under investment treaties, cases by policy area (e.g. agriculture, environmental protection, taxation) and other data and commentary related to international arbitration.
Research Guide on International Tax Law
"This research guide, based on International Tax Law: A Legal Research Guide (Buffalo: Hein, 2011) by Christopher C. Dykes, is designed to provide a starting point for those interested in international tax research. This guide will focus on international tax law from the global perspective, but will also list information and sources for those interested in U.S. international taxation. This research guide will also discuss model income tax conventions, tax treaties, customary international law, and general principles of law. Secondary sources such as selected treatises, practice guides, and journals as well as online sources and research guides will also be covered." - from the guide's introduction
Guardianship in Connecticut
Law Library of Congress Guide to People's Republic of China
Representing Minors in Connecticut
ASIL's Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law
Includes guides for Human Rights, International Commercial Arbitration, International Criminal Law, International Economic Law, International Environmental Law, International Intellectual Property Law, International Organizations, Private International Law, Treaties, and United Nations.
Chinese Legal Research at the University of Washington
Research Guide prepared by University of Washington School of Law, Marian Gould Gallagher Law Library. East Asian Law Department.
Country-by-Country Guide to Foreign Law Research
Portal to research guides and major databases for every country; these research guides vary from explanatory legal system guides to lists of legal resource links; includes links to the Foreign Law Guide, the World Legal Information Institute, and other portals and foreign legal research guides.
European Union Internet Resources
Maintained by University of California Berkeley.
European Union Research Guide
The Duke Law Library collects both primary and secondary materials about the European Union. These materials are accessible through the online catalog.
Foreign and Comparative Law Guides
LLRX is a depository of research guides for topics such as immigration law, Islamic law, refugee law, parliamentary procedure, and cultural property.
Globalex: Finding Chinese Law on the Internet
A succinct research guide covering China online resources by Joan Liu, Head of Technical Services at NYU Law Library.
Globalex: Religious Legal Systems: A Brief Guide to Research and Its Role in Comparative Law
By Marylin Johnson Raisch
Guide to Foreign and Comparative Law Research at Yale
This document outlines the best approach to starting your foreign law research at Yale; it provides links to the most commonly used and best resources available, many of which are listed elsewhere on this web page.
Human Trafficking Laws - United States/Mexico and China/Vietnam
Le, Christina T. - GlobaLex
International and Foreign Law Research Guides (GlobaLex)
Research guides on a variety of countries and international topics.
International and Foreign Law Research Guides (LLRX)
Research guides on a variety of countries and international topics.
International Commercial Arbitration Research Guide
Online guides to researching international commercial arbitration.
International Comparative Legal Guides
The ICLG series provides current and practical comparative legal information on a range of practice areas. Selective contents are free upon registration.
International Investment Law Guide
Library research guides to international investment law.
International Research Guides
GlobaLex at NYU - Many research guides on different aspects of international law research
Latin American Collection
Guide to the Latin American Collection at Yale University; the Subject Guides are especially helpful
LLRX Finding the law: Islamic Law (Sharia)
By Andrew Grossman, Published on August 1, 2002
LLRX: A Complete Research Guide to The People's Republic of China (PRC)
By Wei Luo at Washington University and Joan Liu at New York University
PAIL Guide to Procedural International Law
The online research guide links to online resources and websites on many topics of international law such as international law sources, dispute resolution, state responsibility, and human rights
Report from China: Supreme People's Court
By Jiahong Yang at Osgood Hall Law School, York University
Research Guide for International Commercial and Investment Arbitration
International Law Institute - Alternative Dispute Resolution Center's guide to researching international commercial and investment arbitration.
Tax Research -- Foreign and International
Yale's guide to locating relevant print and electronic, foreign and international tax research resources.
U Wash Gallagher Law Library: Islamic Law Resources at the Gallagher Law Library
University of Washington - Gallagher Law Library
United Nations Resources and Research Tools
Not your ordinary guide; nice chart with searching hints and tools tailored to specific research needs (also available in pdf).
Universal Voices Online Human Rights Internet Guide
World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII)
WorldLII links you to legal information and websites all over the world; organized by country
Yale's Foreign and International Law Resources
This is more of a portal than a research guide;you can find all of our foreign and international databases on this page, subscription and open-access, including tax websites and a country-by-country guide to finding the laws, cases, and scholarship of countries other than the U.S.






