research Guide

If you are seeing this text it means a librarian has not created and introduction to this particular research guide. But there may be resources available on this topic. Click on the tabs below to check for resources that may help you get started on your research.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns about our research guides please contact a reference librarian at lawref@pantheon.yale.edu or the library webmaster at lawlib.webmaster@yale.edu.

Research Guides

Constitutions of the Countries of the World, Constitutions of Dependencies and Territories, Constitutions of the U.S.: National and State
Current and selected historical Constitutions via Oceana - Click on "Connect via IP Access" and select the desired database.
Foreign Law Guide
Great background information into every country's history and legal system. Also listed in the Country-by-Country Guide above. FLG is a comprehensive list of primary and secondary sources in print and on the Internet. This is the electronic version of Foreign Law: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World - Z675.L2 A23 no. 33 - L1 - F/I Reference - (*database available via Yale network only)
International Legal Materials
Search ASIL's compilation of international laws, treaties, decisions, and declarations on Westlaw (database: ILM), Lexis (file-name: ILM), and HeinOnline. American Society of International Law, Washington, DC, 1962-Present.
International Legal Research in a Nutshell
This Nutshell provides a basic introduction to international legal research for the non-specialist. It offers guidance through the unfamiliar pathways of research using international legal materials and demystifies the world of treaties. Since it's aimed at the non-specialist, it provides straight-forward background information on the United Nations and the European Union and includes guidance using the documents and legal materials of these institutions.
Legal Research in a Nutshell
F/I chapters
Constitutions of the Countries of the World, Constitutions of Dependencies and Territories, Constitutions of the U.S.: National and State
Current and selected historical Constitutions via Oceana - Click on "Connect via IP Access" and select the desired database.
Foreign Law Guide
Great background information into every country's history and legal system. Also listed in the Country-by-Country Guide above. FLG is a comprehensive list of primary and secondary sources in print and on the Internet. This is the electronic version of Foreign Law: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World - Z675.L2 A23 no. 33 - L1 - F/I Reference - (*database available via Yale network only)
International Law in Domestic Courts: ORIL
Landmark cases from foreign jurisdictions translated into English and commented upon by recognized scholars
International Legal Materials
Search ASIL's compilation of international laws, treaties, decisions, and declarations on Westlaw (database: ILM), Lexis (file-name: ILM), and HeinOnline. American Society of International Law, Washington, DC, 1962-Present.
Lexis
Full-text searching; not much non-English material
World Constitutions Illustrated
HeinOnline's database contains the current constitution for every country in the world in the original language and English translations where available; also find more than 800 classic books on constitutions, constitutional history and jurisprudence, and political and economic history (Yale access only)
WorldCat
WorldCat is the Online Computer Library Center's (OCLC) online "union catalog"; that is, its database of over 1 billion records of books and other materials held in more than 10,000 academic, public, special and national libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of Yale, in almost any area of study, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections. WorldCat provides catalog records for books, maps, sound recordings, musical scores, films, archives, and computer files held in research, corporate, and public libraries, as well as museums, archives and historical societies. All searches may be easily printed, downloaded or e-mailed directly to you. NEW ! Click on the Yale links icon and then on the link for submitting an Interlibrary Loan request to obtain items that Yale does not own. Yale subscribes to a paid version of WorldCat, click of 'Access database.''
Country-by-Country Guide to Foreign Law Research
Portal to research guides and major databases for every country; these research guides vary from explanatory legal system guides to lists of legal resource links; includes links to the Foreign Law Guide, the World Legal Information Institute, and other portals and foreign legal research guides.
Global Legal Information Network (GLIN)
Law Library of Congress' public database of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations - official documents in original language with some English translations.
GlobaLex
In-depth legal research guides in foreign, comparative, and international law
International Comparative Legal Guides
The ICLG series provides current and practical comparative legal information on a range of practice areas. Selective contents are free upon registration.
LLRX
In-depth legal research guides that cover different aspects of foreign and comparative law.
MORRIS
Search by title, keyword, or subject heading.
Nations of the World
Library of Congress' lists of web links.
ORBIS
Yale University Catalog contains bibliographic records of books and other materials available through the Yale University libraries. Search by title, keyword, or subject heading.
WorldCat
WorldCat is the Online Computer Library Center's (OCLC) online "union catalog"; that is, its database of over 1 billion records of books and other materials held in more than 10,000 academic, public, special and national libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of Yale, in almost any area of study, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections. WorldCat provides catalog records for books, maps, sound recordings, musical scores, films, archives, and computer files held in research, corporate, and public libraries, as well as museums, archives and historical societies. All searches may be easily printed, downloaded or e-mailed directly to you. NEW ! Click on the Yale links icon and then on the link for submitting an Interlibrary Loan request to obtain items that Yale does not own. Yale subscribes to a paid version of WorldCat, click of 'Access database.''
WorldLII
Lists of links to electronic resources including legislation and legislative bodies
Yale’s F/I Webpage
Consolidation of F/I databases and guides -- check for databases specific to your jurisdiction