sentencing Guide
This guide will introduce you to some of the helpful sources in the area of criminal sentencing. Click on the tabs below to check for resources that may help you get started on your research.
If you have any questions, comments, or concerns about our research guides please contact a reference librarian at lawref@pantheon.yale.edu or the library webmaster at lawlib.webmaster@yale.edu.
Research Guides
Cases and materials on the law and policy of sentencing and corrections
This book can be used in two discrete courses, one on sentencing law and policy and another on correctional law and policy, or in a course focusing on both subjects. The book covers, and is designed to provoke debate about, a range of topics, including plea bargaining, rights during sentencing, sentencing statutes and guidelines, community sanctions, the death penalty, cruel and unusual punishment in noncapital cases, parole release, probation and parole revocation, collateral consequences of a conviction, and the constitutional rights of prisoners and pretrial detainees.
Capital punishment and the judicial process
Concentrates on Eighth Amendment and capital punishment issues and include a discussion of post-conviction and federal habeas corpus issues. It includes consideration of all major Supreme Court cases interpreting the new law, and discusses recent developments in the field, including an expanded focus on innocence and the American Bar Association's call for a moratorium on executions.
DSM-IV-TR casebook [electronic resource]
A learning companion to the Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (e-book); published by the American Psychiatric Association, the DSM is particularly useful for cognitive disorders, substance disorders, and psychotic disorders.
Federal Sentencing Law and Practice
A treatise written by Thomas W. Hutchison, Sigmund G. Popko, Peter B. Hoffman, and Deborah Young, which covers the federal sentencing guidelines, including commentary issued by the U.S. Sentencing Commission, annotations, and analysis of the factors used in determining the guideline range, sentence calculations and adjustments, and procedures for plea agreements under the guidelines.
How do judges decide: the search for fairness and justice in punishment
This textbook for students in criminal law explains the latitude the law gives judges in sentencing, and provides a detailed account of the processes involved as well as the collaborative role of the prosecutor in these cases. Specific issues are also presented between the chapters, such as sentencing guidelines for drug offenses, gender inequities in sentencing and the relationship between race and sentencing in drug-related crimes.
Mental Retardation: Definition, Classification, and Systems of Supports
Published by the American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (previously American Association on Mental Retardation) (2002) - on reserve at Medical Library
Sentencing law and policy: cases, statutes, and guidelines
A proven teaching tool written by leading sentencing scholars, Sentencing Law and Policy: Cases, Statutes, and Guidelines, Second Edition, Is a high-quality text with ample, up-to-date material to support a full course or seminar on sentencing.
Sentencing: a reference handbook
This work examines the sentencing process in detail in this reference for students and general readers. The reference includes a chapter on the background and history of sentencing, a discussion of controversies and solutions in sentencing, and a comparison of sentencing systems in 15 countries.
The Law and Policy of Sentencing and Corrections in a Nutshell
Branham, Lynn S. (2005) - effective reference tool and overview of sentencing laws and prisoners' rights. Text discusses the current state of the law and the rights of individuals during the sentencing process; rights of incarcerated individuals; mechanics of litigating suits and the remedies available to inmates; and some of the critical constitutional questions in the areas of sentencing and correctional law that have yet to be resolved by the Supreme Court.
Imposition of sentence for capital felony
Conn. Gen. Stat. 53a-46a (2008) - available on Lexis
Articles about Sentencing
Use the facets or the search box on the top to narrow your results by topic. Database is licensed for use from any Yale-networked computer (Yale dialup (PPP), all Yale dormitories and buildings, and VPN/Proxy access).
Articles about Sentencing and Capital Punishment
Use the facets or the search box on the top to narrow your results by topic. Database is licensed for use from any Yale-networked computer (Yale dialup (PPP), all Yale dormitories and buildings, and VPN/Proxy access).
Articles about Sentencing Guidelines
Use the facets or the search box on the top to narrow your results by topic. Database is licensed for use from any Yale-networked computer (Yale dialup (PPP), all Yale dormitories and buildings, and VPN/Proxy access).
Capital Cases Involving Mental Retardation
93 Am. Jur. Trials 1 (2008)
DSM-IV-TR casebook [electronic resource]
A learning companion to the Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (e-book); published by the American Psychiatric Association, the DSM is particularly useful for cognitive disorders, substance disorders, and psychotic disorders.
Federal Sentencing Law and Practice
A treatise written by Thomas W. Hutchison, Sigmund G. Popko, Peter B. Hoffman, and Deborah Young, which covers the federal sentencing guidelines, including commentary issued by the U.S. Sentencing Commission, annotations, and analysis of the factors used in determining the guideline range, sentence calculations and adjustments, and procedures for plea agreements under the guidelines.
Mental Retardation: Definition, Classification, and Systems of Supports
Published by the American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (previously American Association on Mental Retardation) (2002) - on reserve at Medical Library






