statutes Guide

If you are seeing this text it means a librarian has not created and introduction to this particular research guide. But there may be resources available on this topic. Click on the tabs below to check for resources that may help you get started on your research.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns about our research guides please contact a reference librarian at lawref@pantheon.yale.edu or the library webmaster at lawlib.webmaster@yale.edu.

Research Guides

Capital Punishment in Connecticut
A page of resources from the Connecticut State Library which contain links to specific statutes, legislative history, and recent case law dealing explicitly with capital punishment in Connecticut.; also available in print in the L3 Reading Room
Connecticut General Statutes (CGS)
Take note of these: 46b-120 - Juvenile Matters: Definitions; 46b-129 - Committment of Child or Youth; 46b-129a - Examination by Physician, Appointment of Counsel and Guardian ad Litem; 17a-28 - DCF: Definitions, Confidentiality of Records, Procedures for Aggrieved Persons, Regulations
Connecticut Practice Book
1A §23-22 The petition 1A §23-23 Return of noncomplying petition 1A §23-24 Preliminary consideration of judicial authority 1A §23-25 Waiver of filing fees and costs of service 1A §23-26 Appointment of counsel 1A §23-27 Venue for habeas corpus 1A §23-28 Transfer of habeas corpus 1A §23-29 Dismissal 1A §23-30 The return 1A §23-31 Reply to the return 1A §23-32 Amendments 1A §23-33 Request for a more specific statement 1A §23-34 Summary procedures for habeas corpus petitions 1A §23-35 Schedule for filing pleadings 1A §23-36 The expanded record 1A §23-37 Summary judgment in habeas corpus 1A §23-38 Discovery in habeas corpus 1A §23-39 Depositions in habeas corpus 1A §23-40 Court appearance in habeas corpus 1A §23-41 Motion for leave to withdraw appearance of appointed counsel 1A §23-42 Judicial action on motion for permission to withdraw appearance. Includes Rules of Professional Conduct; online and in print - L3 Reading Room
Foreign Law Guide
Great background information into every country's history and legal system. Also listed in the Country-by-Country Guide above. FLG is a comprehensive list of primary and secondary sources in print and on the Internet. This is the electronic version of Foreign Law: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World - Z675.L2 A23 no. 33 - L1 - F/I Reference - (*database available via Yale network only)
United States Code
L3 Reading Room
United States Code Annotated
L3 Reading Room
Foreign Law Guide
Great background information into every country's history and legal system. Also listed in the Country-by-Country Guide above. FLG is a comprehensive list of primary and secondary sources in print and on the Internet. This is the electronic version of Foreign Law: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World - Z675.L2 A23 no. 33 - L1 - F/I Reference - (*database available via Yale network only)
United States Code Annotated
L3 Reading Room
Connecticut General Statutes (CGS)
Take note of these: 46b-120 - Juvenile Matters: Definitions; 46b-129 - Committment of Child or Youth; 46b-129a - Examination by Physician, Appointment of Counsel and Guardian ad Litem; 17a-28 - DCF: Definitions, Confidentiality of Records, Procedures for Aggrieved Persons, Regulations
United States Code
L3 Reading Room
Capital Punishment in Connecticut
A page of resources from the Connecticut State Library which contain links to specific statutes, legislative history, and recent case law dealing explicitly with capital punishment in Connecticut.; also available in print in the L3 Reading Room
Connecticut General Statutes (CGS)
Take note of these: 46b-120 - Juvenile Matters: Definitions; 46b-129 - Committment of Child or Youth; 46b-129a - Examination by Physician, Appointment of Counsel and Guardian ad Litem; 17a-28 - DCF: Definitions, Confidentiality of Records, Procedures for Aggrieved Persons, Regulations
Connecticut Practice Book
1A §23-22 The petition 1A §23-23 Return of noncomplying petition 1A §23-24 Preliminary consideration of judicial authority 1A §23-25 Waiver of filing fees and costs of service 1A §23-26 Appointment of counsel 1A §23-27 Venue for habeas corpus 1A §23-28 Transfer of habeas corpus 1A §23-29 Dismissal 1A §23-30 The return 1A §23-31 Reply to the return 1A §23-32 Amendments 1A §23-33 Request for a more specific statement 1A §23-34 Summary procedures for habeas corpus petitions 1A §23-35 Schedule for filing pleadings 1A §23-36 The expanded record 1A §23-37 Summary judgment in habeas corpus 1A §23-38 Discovery in habeas corpus 1A §23-39 Depositions in habeas corpus 1A §23-40 Court appearance in habeas corpus 1A §23-41 Motion for leave to withdraw appearance of appointed counsel 1A §23-42 Judicial action on motion for permission to withdraw appearance. Includes Rules of Professional Conduct; online and in print - L3 Reading Room
Connecticut Statutes Regarding Homicide and Capital Punishment
Cornell's Legal Information Institute
(U.S. Code, Federal Rules, USSC cases, and more)
Country-by-Country Guide to Foreign Law Research
Portal to research guides and major databases for every country; these research guides vary from explanatory legal system guides to lists of legal resource links; includes links to the Foreign Law Guide, the World Legal Information Institute, and other portals and foreign legal research guides.
Global Legal Information Network (GLIN)
Law Library of Congress' public database of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations - official documents in original language with some English translations.
GlobaLex
In-depth legal research guides in foreign, comparative, and international law
Guide to Connecticut Legislative History
A brief guide to explaining how to locate legislative history documents at the Connecticut State Library
HLS
Harvard's lists of links to foreign law online sources including legislation and legislative bodies
LLRX
In-depth legal research guides that cover different aspects of foreign and comparative law.
State Law Research Guide
This state-by-state guide connects to the best research guides and popular databases for each jurisdiction.
United States Code Annotated
L3 Reading Room
WorldLII
Lists of links to electronic resources including legislation and legislative bodies