This guide will introduce you to some of the helpful sources in the area of torts. Click on the tabs below to check for resources that may help you get started on your research.
Prosser and Keeton on the Law of Torts
Intentional Interference with the Person; Intentional Interference with Property; Defenses to Intentional Interference with Person or Property; Negligence: Standard of Conduct; Negligence: Proof; Proximate Cause; Joint Tortfeasors; Limited Duty; Owners and Occupiers of Land; Negligence: Defenses; Imputed Negligence; Strict Liability; Compensation Systems; Nuisance; Tort and Contract; Products Liability; Misrepresentation and Nondisclosure; Defamation; Privacy; Misuse of Legal Procedure; Domestic Relations; Survival and Wrongful Death; Economic Relations; Immunities.
Restatement of the law third, torts: liability for physical and emotional harm
First vol. includes the subjects of liability for intentional physical harm and for negligence causing physical harm, duty, strict liability, factual cause, and scope of liability (traditionally called proximate cause); a second vol. expected in 2011 will cover affirmative duties, emotional harm, landowner liability, and liability of actors who retain independent contractors.
Tort Law Desk Reference
This is a survey of tort laws of all fifty states and the District of Columbia. For each state, topics covered include statutes of limitations, tort reform, no fault limitations, standard for negligence, causation, comparative negligence, res ipsa loquitur, negligence per se, several liability, indemnity, and more.
Torts and compensation: personal accountability and social responsibility for injury
The Standard Edition of the casebook now covers the course in less than 1,000 pages. It includes additions carefully selected from hundreds of cases and statutes decided between 2005 and 2008. New cases illustrate core negligence issues such as the emergency doctrine, negligence per se, foreseeability, actual harm, cause in fact, proximate cause, comparative fault, and assumed risk. New cases also address limited duties, immunities and specialized fields, such as medical malpractice, products liability, governmental immunities, effect of contract on tort, duty to protect the plaintiff from others, and wrongful death and survival actions. References to the Restatement (Third) of Torts are also included.
Torts in a Nutshell
A clear, concise, current, and authoritative explanation of all of the most important U.S. tort law doctrines, including those covered in first-year torts courses in law schools. Coverage includes tort law origins and objectives; causation; strict liability; negligence liability and defenses; intentional tort liability and defenses; special liability rules (premises liability, products liability, employers, etc.); damages; tort and contract; immunities; wrongful death and survival; defamation; privacy; misrepresentation.
A Guide to Toxic Torts
American Law of Products Liability
Automobile Design Liability
Automobile Liability Insurance
Aviation Tort and Regulatory Law
CCH Products Liability Reporter
Civil Actions Against State and Local Governments
Civil Actions Against the United States
Comparative Negligence Manual
Defamation: A Lawyer's Guide
Evidence in Negligence Cases
Federal and State Torts Pleadings
The Federal and State Torts Pleadings, Combined (TORTPL) is a collection of torts pleadings that contains federal jurisdictions such as all federal circuits, district and bankruptcy courts as well as a variety of state cases which include supreme, appeals, superior, and circuit court levels. Some miscellaneous jurisdictions are also covered.
Handbook of Personal Injury Forms and Litigation Materials
Litigation Torts Cases
Restatement of the law - torts archive
The Business torts reporter
Torts and Rights
The law of torts is concerned with the obligations that are created by the infringement of rights. This work seeks to show that this apparently simple proposition provides the groundwork for a new theoretical model for conceiving the law of torts, and a new way of understanding the subject.
Torts Multi-Jurisdictional Surveys with Analysis
LexisNexis Multi-Jurisdictional Surveys with Analysis are compilations of key information about important legal issues across all fifty states and/or international jurisdictions. They give the researcher the ability to compare the rules and regulations across several or all fifty states. Each survey includes the citation reference and a summary of the rule or regulation, with practice insights as available.
Toxic tort & environmental matters