Treaties Guide

If you are seeing this text it means a librarian has not created and introduction to this particular research guide. But there may be resources available on this topic. Click on the tabs below to check for resources that may help you get started on your research.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns about our research guides please contact a reference librarian at lawref@pantheon.yale.edu or the library webmaster at lawlib.webmaster@yale.edu.

Research Guides

Bilateral investment treaties : history, policy, and interpretation
By Kenneth J. Vandevelde
Calculation of Compensation and Damages in International Investment Law
By Irmgard Marboe
International energy investment law : the pursuit of stability
By Peter D. Cameron
International Investment Law for the 21st Century : Essays in Honour of Christoph Schreur
ed. by Christina Binder et al.
International Investments Protection : Comparative Law Analysis of Bilateral and Multilateral Interstate Conventions, Doctrinal Texts and Arbitral Jurisprudence Concerning Foreigh Investments
Eds. Jan Schokkaert, Yvon Heckscher ; foreword by Filip Reyntjens
International Legal Materials
Search ASIL's compilation of international laws, treaties, decisions, and declarations on Westlaw (database: ILM), Lexis (file-name: ILM), and HeinOnline. American Society of International Law, Washington, DC, 1962-Present.
Joint ventures in the international arena
ed. by Prescott, Darrell and Salli Anne Swartz (2010) - UES
Multilateral Rules on Cross-Border Investment and the Word Trade Organisation
By Marcus Peter
Recent developments in international investment law
By August Reinisch
The Art of Advocacy in International Arbitration
ed. by Bishop, R. Doak and Edward G. Kehoe (2010) - UES
The International Law of Investment Claims
By Zachary Douglas
The law of investment treaties
By Jeswald W. Salacuse
The Multilateralization of International Investment Law
By Stephan W. Schill
HeinOnline United Nations Law Collection
Complete scanned pdfs of the United Nation Treaty Series (UNTS); retrieve a UN Treaty by UNTS citation, search by treaty/registration number, country, short title, popular name, subject; links to law review articles that cite a UN Treaty; finding aids, quick reference guide, wiki, and video tutorial; also find international arbitral awards, law of the sea documents, and more.*
International Legal Materials
Search ASIL's compilation of international laws, treaties, decisions, and declarations on Westlaw (database: ILM), Lexis (file-name: ILM), and HeinOnline. American Society of International Law, Washington, DC, 1962-Present.
KAV Agreements
Recent State Department Agreements, Senate Treaty Documents, Trade Agreements and others. Kavass, Igor I. KAV 0001-8574 (1987 - current)
Kluwer Arbitration
Kluwer Arbitration offers worldwide coverage of commercial and investment arbitration; includes case law, commentary, conventions, legislation and rules.
Multilaterals Project at The Fletcher School
Ongoing project of The Fletcher School, Tufts University, to make available the texts of international multilateral treaties.
Transnational Dispute Management
TDM is an international commercial arbitration legal and regulatory journal (articles, studies, newsletter) and database (Knowledgebank - modern energy laws, arbitral awards, treaties, voluntary guidelines). You can also join the OGEMID (oil, gas, energy, mining, infrastructure) listserv and browse its archives.*
Treaties and International Agreements (TIARA)
Oceana's full-text searchable database of U.S. treaties and international agreements in force since 1783*
Viadrina International Law Project (VILP)
A multilingual international treaty database on Public International Law, European Law and Foreign Constitutional Law hosted by the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt.
Viadrina International Law Project (VILP)
A multilingual international treaty database on Public International Law, European Law and Foreign Constitutional Law hosted by the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt.
WIPO Lex
WIPO Lex is an on-line database of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) covering some 10,000 intellectual property (IP) laws/regulations from nearly 200 countries including over 250 IP-related treaties concerning patent, trademark, copyright, industrial design, geographical indication, traditional knowledge, etc. Access is free and all language versions of the legal texts are made available on-line.
Library of Congress -- Thomas -- Treaties
From the 90th congress (1967)
The G-7 report : a publication for international trade & investment
CISG and International Commercial Law Database
The United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG) is the uniform international sales law of countries that account for two-thirds of all world trade. As a service to the world trade community, the Pace University School of Law offers an annotated electronic library on the CISG on the World-Wide Web.
International Investment Law for the 21st Century : Essays in Honour of Christoph Schreur
ed. by Christina Binder et al.
New York Convention 1958
Information on the implementation of the Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards, signed in New York on 10 June 1958. The website provides access to the case-law from a number of jurisdictions on the application of the Convention by domestic courts as well as information on the ratification of the Convention by selected states.
Organization of American States
Official site - contains official documents, treaties, legal opinions, resolutions, declarations, news, etc. English, Spanish, Portugese, French.
The Art of Advocacy in International Arbitration
ed. by Bishop, R. Doak and Edward G. Kehoe (2010) - UES