United Nations Guide

If you are seeing this text it means a librarian has not created and introduction to this particular research guide. But there may be resources available on this topic. Click on the tabs below to check for resources that may help you get started on your research.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns about our research guides please contact a reference librarian at lawref@pantheon.yale.edu or the library webmaster at lawlib.webmaster@yale.edu.

Research Guides

Model Double Taxation Convention between Developed and Developing Countries
United Nations (2001) - UES; STA/ESA/PAD/SER.E/21 (pdf, 2001).
AccessUN
Index to United Nations Documents, including Official Records, draft resolutions, and the UN Treaty Series. Some full-text.
Dag Hammarskjöld Library
United Nations library located in New York City.
Hague Academy of Collected Courses Online
The Collected Courses Online is the electronic version of the longstanding book series on international law: Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law. The courses deal with the theoretical and practical aspects of the subject, including legislation and case law. They are given by the most prominent legal specialists in the world. All courses at the Academy are published in the language in which they were delivered, either in English or in French. The Collected Courses Online now covers more than 330 volumes (150,000 pages) containing over 1200 lectures given over a period of 85 years. At least seven new volumes are added every year. The result is a constantly growing fully searchable encyclopedic collection on international law.
UNBISnet
Index to United Nations documents since 1979 and catalog of Dag Hammarskjöld Library*
United Nations Official Documents
The most comprehensive collection of official UN documents from 1993. Older UN documents added daily. Resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946*
Audiovisual Library of International Law
The UN's unique, multimedia resource consists of three pillars: (1) the Historic Archives containing documents and audiovisual materials relating to the negotiation and adoption of significant legal instruments under the auspices of the United Nations and related agencies since 1945; (2) the Lecture Series featuring a permanent collection of lectures on virtually every subject of international law given by leading international law scholars and practitioners from different countries and legal systems; and (3) the Research Library providing an on-line international law library with links to treaties, jurisprudence, publications and documents, scholarly writings and research guides
HEUNI
Publications of the the European Institute for Crime Prevention and Control, affiliated with the United Nations (HEUNI), the European link in the network of institutes operating within the framework of the United Nations Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice Programme; the primary objective of HEUNI is to promote the international exchange of information on crime prevention and control among European countries
Manual for the Negotiation of Bilateral Tax Treaties between Developed and Developing Countries
ST/ESA/PAD/SER.E/37 (pdf, 2003)
Model Double Taxation Convention between Developed and Developing Countries
United Nations (2001) - UES; STA/ESA/PAD/SER.E/21 (pdf, 2001).
UN Legal Publications Global Search
Portal includes most legal publications of the Codification Division of the Office of Legal Affairs (Yearbook of the International Law Commission, United Nations Juridical Yearbook, Reports of International Arbitral Awards, Summaries of Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders of the International Court of Justice, Proceedings of Diplomatic Conferences, Repertory of Practice of United Nations Organs)
United Nations Financing for Development Office: Committee of Experts on International Cooperation in Tax Matters
Find the Model Double Taxation Convention between Developed and Developing Countries (ST/ESA/PAD/SER.E/21)(pdf, 2001), the Manual for the Negotiation of Bilateral Tax Treaties between Developed and Developing Countries (ST/ESA/PAD/SER.E/37)(pdf, 2003), and other documents and publications.
United Nations Judicial Yearbook
Published annually since 1963, the Yearbook includes certain legal documents concerning the United Nations and related intergovernmental organizations.
United Nations Security Council
Find Resolutions, Reports from the President, Secretary-General, Mission, and Subsidiary Bodies; under the Meetings tab, find full-text meetings records, resolutions, presidential statements; annual reports and other document