Country-by-Country Guide to Foreign Law Research
This country-by-country guide will help get you started on your foreign law research by connecting you to the best research guides and databases for each country.
Notes about the guide:
- Links under Country go to the CIA's World Factbook.
- The LC Call Number indicates where the print materials for that country are located on the Lower East Side (LES) of the Yale Law Library.
- The Regional Map icons go to a map of the larger geographical region.
- LC Country Studies provide social, political, legal and economic information
- The FLG is the outstanding and comprehensive Foreign Law Guide which will give you the historical, political and legal framework for each country plus the past and current sources of legal information, including where to find legislation, codes and case decisions, print and online. This is a Yale subscription database.
- HLS refers to Harvard Law School's list of online guides to doing legal research in foreign jurisdictions.
- WorldLII is a directory of legal information available on the Internet.
- The Online Guides column includes the most substantial guide available from a library or research site.
- The World Law Guide is a good resource for current legislation.
- The Gazettes column features a link to the country's national gazette.
- Finally, the Other Databases column lists other valuable subscription or open-access databases or websites for that country.
|
Country LC Call Number Range |
Regional Map | LC Country Study | FLG | HLS | Legal Information Institute (WorldLii) | Online Guides | WorldLaw Guide | Gazettes | Other Databases | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Taiwan (KNP) |
|
| FLG | | WorldLaw Guide | | ||||
| Tajikistan (KLT) |
|
CS | | HLS | WorldLaw Guide |
Not published online
|
Tajikistan's Legislation (Russian) Parliament of Tajikistan -- Law and Legislation (Tajik) |
|||
| Tanzania (KTT) |
|
| FLG | HLS | WorldLaw Guide |
Gazette of the United Republic of Tanzania |
Parliament (current laws, bills, and other docs) Legislation (current) |
|||
| Thailand (KPT) |
|
CS | FLG | HLS | WorldLaw Guide |
Royal Thai Government Gazette (In Thai only) |
Thailand Law Forum (selected laws, Supreme Court opinions) |
|||
| Timor-Leste (East Timor; see also Indonesia) (KNW) |
|
| | | | | ||||
| Togo (KTU) |
|
| FLG | | WorldLaw Guide |
Journal Officiel de la République Togolese (not available online) |
All Togo laws available at the searchable database Lois et Reglements du Togo |
|||
| Tonga (KWP) |
|
| | HLS | WorldLaw Guide | | ||||
| Trinidad and Tobago (KGX) |
|
| FLG | HLS | WorldLaw Guide | | ||||
| Tunisia (KTV) |
|
| FLG | | WorldLaw Guide | | ||||
| Turkey (KKX) |
|
CS | FLG | | WorldLaw Guide |
|
Journal of International Trade and Diplomacy |
|||
| Turkmenistan (KLV) |
|
CS | | HLS | WorldLaw Guide |
Parliament of Turkmenistan-- legislation database in Russian and in English Legislation of Turkmenistan (by subscription, Yale does not subscribe; in Russian) |
||||
| Tuvalu (KWQ) |
|
| FLG | HLS | WorldLaw Guide |
Tuvalu Gazette (not available online) |
|
Stephanie Davidson created the original version of this guide for a clinic several years ago. It has since been modified to suit general foreign law research. Thanks to Zhang Yue, YC '10 and Anna Ershova, YC '11 for their assistance in updating this guide.


















