Country-by-Country Guide to Foreign Law Research

This country-by-country guide will help get you started on your foreign law research by connecting you to the best research guides and databases for each country. 

Notes about the guide:

  • Links under Country go to the CIA's World Factbook.
  • The LC Call Number indicates where the print materials for that country are located on the Lower East Side (LES) of the Yale Law Library.
  • The Regional Map icons go to a map of the larger geographical region.
  • LC Country Studies provide social, political, legal and economic information
  • The FLG is the outstanding and comprehensive Foreign Law Guide which will give you the historical, political and legal framework for each country plus the past and current sources of legal information, including where to find legislation, codes and case decisions, print and online. This is a Yale subscription database.
  • HLS refers to Harvard Law School's list of online guides to doing legal research in foreign jurisdictions.
  • WorldLII is a directory of legal information available on the Internet.
  • The Online Guides column includes the most substantial guide available from a library or research site.
  • The World Law Guide is a good resource for current legislation.
  • The Gazettes column features a link to the country's national gazette.
  • Finally, the Other Databases column lists other valuable subscription or open-access databases or websites for that country.
Country
LC Call Number Range
Regional Map LC Country Study FLG HLS Legal Information Institute (WorldLii) Online Guides WorldLaw Guide Gazettes Other Databases
Namibia (KSY)  FLG 

WorldLII CommonLII SAFLII SAFLII (Court Rolls)

Northwestern GlobaLex LOC

WorldLaw Guide

Government Gazette of the Republic of Namibia (not available online)



Namibia Law Journal

Nauru (KVU)   HLS

WorldLII CommonLII PacLII

GlobaLex (South Pacific Law) LOC



Nauru Government Gazette (not available online)


Nepal (KPK)  CS  HLS

WorldLII AsianLII

LOC

GlobaLex

WorldLaw Guide

Nepal Gazette (not available online)


Netherlands (Holland) (KKM)  FLG HLS

WorldLII

Northwestern LLRX GlobaLex LOC

WorldLaw Guide

Staatsblad van het Koninkrijk der Nederlanden



European Case Law Database (Dutch)

Westlaw (International Arbitration, Patents & Trademarks)

N-Lex

New Zealand (KUQ)  FLG HLS

NZLII WorldLII CommonLII CommonLII (Tokelau)

Northwestern LLRX GlobaLex LOC

WorldLaw Guide

New Zealand Gazette



Lexis (New Zealand Law Review, Victoria University of Wellington Law Review, Case Law, Commentaries & Treatises, International Arbitration)

Westlaw (Law Reviews, Bar Journals & Legal Periodicals)

Legal Maori Project

Nicaragua (KGG)  CS FLG HLS

WorldLII

GlobaLexLOC

WorldLaw Guide

La Gaceta, diario oficial



Latin Laws -- Biblioteca Legal Latinoamericana

Niger (KSZ)  FLG 

WorldLII JuriNiger Droit Afrique

GlobaLexLOC

WorldLaw Guide

Journal Officiel de la Republique du Niger



Juricaf

Nigeria, Federal Republic of (KTA)  CS FLG HLS

WorldLIICommonLIINIIL

GlobaLex LOC

WorldLaw Guide

Federal Republic of Nigeria Official Gazette (not available online)



Law Library

Court of Appeal

Sharia Implementation in Northern Nigeria 1999-2006

Niue (N.Z.) (KWA)  FLG HLS

WorldLII PacLII CommonLII

GlobaLex (South Pacific Law) LOC



Niue Gazette (not available online)


Norway (KKN)  FLG HLS

WorldLII

LLRX GlobaLexLOC

WorldLaw Guide

Norsk Lovtidend, Part 1 and Norsk Lovtidend, Part 2



Lovdata  comprehensive Norwegian legal database; selected translations in English

Translated Norwegian Legislation

Westlaw (Patents & Trademarks)

 

Stephanie Davidson created the original version of this guide for a clinic several years ago. It has since been modified to suit general foreign law research. Thanks to Zhang Yue, YC '10 and Anna Ershova, YC '11 for their assistance in updating this guide.

Questions/Comments