Country-by-Country Guide to Foreign Law Research

This country-by-country guide will help get you started on your foreign law research by connecting you to the best research guides and databases for each country. 

Notes about the guide:

  • Links under Country go to the CIA's World Factbook.
  • The LC Call Number indicates where the print materials for that country are located on the Lower East Side (LES) of the Yale Law Library.
  • The Regional Map icons go to a map of the larger geographical region.
  • LC Country Studies provide social, political, legal and economic information
  • The FLG is the outstanding and comprehensive Foreign Law Guide which will give you the historical, political and legal framework for each country plus the past and current sources of legal information, including where to find legislation, codes and case decisions, print and online. This is a Yale subscription database.
  • HLS refers to Harvard Law School's list of online guides to doing legal research in foreign jurisdictions.
  • WorldLII is a directory of legal information available on the Internet.
  • The Online Guides column includes the most substantial guide available from a library or research site.
  • The World Law Guide is a good resource for current legislation.
  • The Gazettes column features a link to the country's national gazette.
  • Finally, the Other Databases column lists other valuable subscription or open-access databases or websites for that country.
Country
LC Call Number Range
Regional Map LC Country Study FLG HLS Legal Information Institute (WorldLii) Online Guides WorldLaw Guide Gazettes Other Databases
Uganda (KTW)  CS FLG 

WorldLII CommonLII ULII SafLII

Northwestern GlobaLex LOC

WorldLaw Guide

Uganda Gazette (not available online)


Ukraine (KKY)  FLG HLS

WorldLII

LLRX GlobaLex LOC

WorldLaw Guide

Збірник урядових нормативних актів України (Collection of Normative Acts of Ukraine's Government; in Ukrainian); Офіційний вісник України (link 1);

Офіційний вісник України (link 2) (Official Gazette of Ukraine; in Ukrainian)



Parliament of Ukraine - Legislation in Ukrainian, selected documents in English

Legal Acts of Ukraine (English)

Washlaw

Jurist Guide to Ukrainian Law and Human Rights

United Arab Emirates (KMV)  CS FLG 

WorldLII

GlobaLex LOC


WorldLaw Guide

Official Gazette (Gazette of the UAE) not available online



Emory Law School

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (Includes England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland) (KD - Eng & Wales; KDC - Scotland; KDE - No. Ireland)  FLG HLS

BaiLIIWorldLIICommonLII CommonLII (Pitcairn Islands)

YaleLLRXLLRX(constitution)LLRX(primary legislation)GlobaLexGlobaLex(Scotland)GlobaLex (Ireland) LOC GlobaLex (Wales)

WorldLaw Guide

London Gazette, Belfast Gazette, Edinburgh Gazette
UK Statutory Instruments,
British Virgin Islands Official Gazette

The Official Turks and Caicos Islands Government Gazette  Government of Anguilla official gazette (Anguila; not available online)



Justis (laws, cases up to 1875&statutory documents - Yale network only)

Lawtel (laws, cases - Yale network only)

UK Parliament (publications)

British and Irish Legal Institute (public legal information)

Northern Ireland Case Database

Scottish Courts (case law database)

Lexis (Treaties & International Agreements, Case Law, Legislation & Regulations, Journals, Law Lists & Directories, Legal Updates, Lexis-Nexis Practice Materials, Commentaries & Treatises, International Arbitration, Mealey Publications

Westlaw (Case Law, Legislation, Statutes, All Reports, Law in Force, Legal & Regulatory Developments Index - LRDI)

N-Lex

Uruguay (KHU)  CS FLG HLS

WorldLII

Yale DLSA
GlobaLex
LOC

WorldLaw Guide

Diario Oficial de la Republica Oriental del Uruguay



Latin Laws -- Biblioteca Legal Latinoamericana

Uzbekistan (KLW)  CS FLG HLS

WorldLII

LLRX GlobaLex LOC

WorldLaw Guide

Народное слово (the newspaper that publishes acts laws and President's decrees in Russian)



 

Stephanie Davidson created the original version of this guide for a clinic several years ago. It has since been modified to suit general foreign law research. Thanks to Zhang Yue, YC '10 and Anna Ershova, YC '11 for their assistance in updating this guide.

Questions/Comments