Department of Justice (Hong Kong)
This is the official web site of the Department of Justice of the HKSAR. It includes The Laws of Hong Kong, which contains three sections: The Laws of Hong Kong; The Basic Law; and Treaties and International Agreement. The is a very good site with clear instructions for use. It is updated irregularly.
Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Gazette
Official source of primary law consisting of ordinances and regulations (subsidiary legislation), notices and texts of treaties to which HKSAR is a signatory.
Hong Kong e-Legislation 電子版香港法例
Hong Kong e-Legislation (HKeL) is the official database of Hong Kong legislation. It provides free online access to current and past versions of consolidated legislation dating back to 30 June 1997 and PDF copies marked “verified copy” have official legal status. Different searching and viewing modes are available to facilitate access to law. The database is maintained by the Department of Justice.
Hong Kong Institute of Arbitrators
A main objective of the Hong Kong Institute of Arbitrators is to promote arbitration and other alternative methods of dispute resolution in Hong Kong which is a service centre for Asia and gateway to China. The Hong Kong Institute of Arbitrators will be involved in the training of arbitrators and mediators and the setting of appropriate standards of conduct for arbitrators and mediators in Hong Kong. It is involved in law reform relevant both to arbitration and mediation. It is working to develop ties with other organisations involved in arbitration and alternate methods of dispute resolution, particularly those within China and in the Asia region. Available in English and Traditional Chinese.
Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre (HKIAC)
"HKIAC was established in 1985 to assist parties resolve their disputes through arbitration and other means of dispute resolution. A group of leading business and professional people in Hong Kong founded the HKIAC with the hope of making it the leading centre for dispute resolution in Asia. The business community and the Hong Kong Government have generously funded the HKIAC, but the Centre is totally independent and is financially self sufficient."
Hong Kong Judiciary
The website consists of information about the judiciary and selective judgments of all levels of the local court system.
Hong Kong Legal Information Institute (HKLII)
Consists of extensive judgments from various courts, ordinances and regulations and selective secondary sources.
Hong Kong Legal Reference System
Includes up to date decisions of significance from the following courts between 1946 and 1948, and from 1966 onwards from:
Court of Final Appeal (since its establishment in 1997)
Court of Appeal of the High Court
Court of First Instance of the High Court
Competition Tribunal (since its establishment in 2015)
Hong Kong Primary Sources - Cases - in Lexis Advance
Includes CaseBase, a comprehensive citator, annotator and digester covering all significant Hong Kong judgments. All reported and the majority of unreported Hong Kong cases are covered, as well as key overseas cases (such as from England or other Commonwealth jurisdictions) where they are referred to by Hong Kong cases. Additionally, includes also unreported judgments from the Court of Final Appeal, Court of Appeal and Court of First Instance (High Court), District Court, Lands Tribunal and other specialist tribunals1905 to present; Hong Kong Cases 1946-current and Hong Kong Family Law Reports.
Hong Kong Primary Sources - Cases - in Westlaw
Full-text case reports from Hong Kong Law Reports and Digest, the authorized reporting service for the courts of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China (the Court of Final Appeal, the Court of Appeal of the High Court, and the Court of First Instance of the High Court); the courts of the British crown colony of Hong Kong (the Privy Council, the Court of Appeal, and the High Court); and other courts and tribunals, such as the District Court and Lands Tribunal. Coverage begins with 1905. Also includes full-text case law documents from the Hong Kong Latest Judgments-Alert Service, including unreported decisions from the Hong Kong regional courts and the Privy Council of Great Britain. Coverage begins with 1999.
Hong Kong Primary Sources - Legislation - in Westlaw
Contains all Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Ordinances, Subsidiary Legislation and selected constitutional documents currently in force. Legislation that is enacted, but not yet in force is also included.
Hong Kong Primary Sources - Legislation - in Lexis Advance
The Laws of Hong Kong is a reference comprising all primary legislation (ordinances) and subsidiary legislation of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. Over 500 individual ordinances and their subordinate instruments are included.
CaseBase is a comprehensive citator, annotator and digester covering all significant Hong Kong judgments. All reported and the majority of unreported Hong Kong cases are covered, as well as key overseas cases (such as from England or other Commonwealth jurisdictions) where they are referred to by Hong Kong cases. Also includes selective coverage of primary sources in Lexis China 律商网.
PKUlaw (ChinaLawInfo/InfoLawChina (北大法宝)
Also known as ChinaLawInfo (Chinese platform) and InfoLawChina (English platform). A comprehensive bilingual database for searching PRC laws and regulations (since 1949), cases, journal articles, and gazettes.
The Basic Law of Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China
An information portal with the legislative history of the Basic Law, its full text, judicial interpretation and decisions by the NPCSC as well as related resources.
Treaties and International Agreements of Hong Kong (SAR)
This Government website provides a list of all the treaties that are in force and are applicable to the Hong Kong SAR. Most of the treaties on our list applied to Hong Kong prior to 1 July 1997 (the date of Hong Kong's reunification with the Mainland) and continue to apply from that date.