The Taft Court

Historical Materials: The U.S. Supreme Court from 1921-1930

biographical sources | court resources | e-books | image collections | manuscripts & archives | news | periodicals |


Justices serving during Taft’s tenure as Chief Justice; birth/death dates appear when mousing over names of Justices. (all data from Oyez).

 Biographical information (see also manuscripts for specific individuals)

 Court materials

 E-Books

 History indexes

  Historical image collections

 Manuscripts & archives

Joseph McKenna see also McDevitt book
Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr. Microfilm set from Harvard’s collection (72 reels);
see also biographies and other works in MORRIS
William Rufus Day Library of Congress, Manuscript Division (16 ft., finding aid; includes correspondence);
see also biographies and other works in MORRIS
Willis Van Devanter Library of Congress, Manuscript Division (17,000 items, finding aid)
Mahlon Pitney Rutgers University Libraries, Special Collections (1 v. + 1 folder; John O.H. Pitney collection)
James McReynolds see John Knox’ memoir, “The Forgotten Memoir of John Knox” (1936-37 term clerk);
more information on Knox book here
Louis Dembitz Brandeis University of Louisville (140 ft, finding aid);
Harvard collection (50 ft);
Library of Congress, Manuscript Division (4 items);
American Jewish Archives (Cincinnati, OH) (160 items + 32 reels microfilm)
see also biographies and other works in MORRIS
John Hessin Clarke Case Western Reserve University Library, Special Collections (300 items; access restricted)
William Howard Taft Library of Congress, Manuscript Division (902.5 ft., finding aid);
American Jewish Historical Society Library (43 p. of correspondence with);
Cincinnati Historical Society (multiple collections);
Microfilm collection (658 reels) (filmed from LC’s set??);
see also biographies and other works in MORRIS
George Sutherland Library of Congress, Manuscript Division (4,500 items, finding aid);
see also biographies and other works in MORRIS
Pierce Butler Minnesota Historical Society, Division of Library and Archives (1 box);
see also biographies and other works in MORRIS
Edward Terry Sanford Univ. of Tennessee at Knoxville (75 items, 1879-1930, restricted)
see finding aid
Harlan Fiske Stone Library of Congress, Manuscript Division (36.6 ft + 87 containers);
Columbia University, Butler Library (12 ft., mostly related to when Dean);
see also biographies and other works in MORRIS
   

see ArchivesUSA to search for additional materials

   
Clerks of the Court: (from Oxford Guide to the Supreme Court)
James D. Maher
(1913-1921)
see notes on Shipp trial (1907)
William R. Stansbury
(1921-1927)
see obit
C. Elmore Cropley
(1927-1952)
mentioned here (Sup. Ct. Historical Society)
   
Solicitors General: (doj site)
William Frierson
(1920-1921)
 
James M. Beck
(1921-1925)
Princeton University, Mudd Manuscript Library/Archives (4 cartons);
see also book: Beck, James M. / May it please the court (1930)
see also book: Beck, James M. / The old and the new Supreme court (1923)
William D. Mitchell
(1925-1929)
see here (Sup. Ct. Historical Society)
Charles Evans Hughes, Jr.
(1929-1930)
see here (Sup. Ct. Historical Society);
Columbia University, 1914-1930 (32,000 items);
Library of Congress, 1836-1950 (61,000 items, 150 microfilm reels)
Thomas D. Thatcher
(1930-1933)
 
   
Attorneys General: (doj site)
A. Mitchell Palmer
(1919-1921)
 
Harry M. Daugherty
(1921-1924)
Ohio Historical Society, Archives-Library Division (500 items);
see also book: Daugherty, H.M. / The inside story of the Harding tragedy (1932)
Harlan Fiske Stone
(1924-1925)
see above
John T. Sargent
(1925-1929)
 
William D. Mitchell
(1929-1933)
see above
   
note: a search of the historical indexes on Congressional Universe will yield toc/abstracts for testimony in Congress.

 Historical news sources

Periodicals


Please send comments regarding this page to the Reference Department.

 
Updated Date: 
Wednesday, June 27, 2018