Collected Travaux Préparatoires

1er congrès international des tribunaux pour enfants, Paris, 29 juin-1er juillet 1911: Actes du congrès, travaux préparatoires, comptes rendus analytiques et sténographiques publiés au nom du Comité d organisation

1st International Congress of Juvenile Courts, Paris, 29 June to 1 July 1911. Proceedings of the Congress, preparatory work, summary and stenographic proceedings published on behalf of the Organizing Committee, by Mr. Marcel Kleine (1912)

Actes et documents de la neuvieme a la vingtieme session / Conférence de La Haye de droit international privé (1960-2005). Proceedings of the 9th through the 20th session of the Hague Conference on Private International Law (1960-2005).9th session (5 - 26 Oct 1960): Miscellaneous Matters, Legalization, Form of wills, Protection of Children.10th session (7 -28 Oct 1964): Divorce, Adoption, Notification, Contract forum.Special Meeting (13 - 26 April 1966): Execution of judgments.11th session (7 - 26 Oct 1968): Miscellaneous Matters, Divorce, Traffic Accidents, Taking evidence abroad.12th session (2 - 21 Oct 1972): Miscellaneous Matters, Administration of estates, Product Liability, Maintenance Obligations.13th session (4-23 Oct 1976): Miscellaneous Matters, Matrimonial Property Regimes, Marriage, Agency.14th session (6 - 25 Oct 1980): Miscellaneous Matters, Consumer Sales.15th session (8 - 20 Oct 1984): Miscellaneous Matters, Trusts - applicable law and recognition.16th session (3 - 20 Oct 1988): Miscellaneous Matters, Succession to estates - applicable law.17th session (10 - 29 May 1993): Miscellaneous Matters, Centenary, Adoption - Cooperation.18th session (30 Sept - 19 Oct 1996): Miscellaneous Matters, Protection of Children.Special Commission (20 Sept - 2 Oct 1999): Protection of Adults.19th session (6 - 22 June 2001, 2 - 13 Dec 2002): Miscellaneous Matters, Securities.20th session (14 - 30 June 2005): Choice of Court.

Human rights: the Inter-American system, edited by: Thomas Buergenthal and Robert E. Norris. This reference tool (Commentary & Travaux Preparatoires) compiles legal and constitutional instruments-charters, treaties, declarations, & resolution which are relevant to the protection of human rights within the Inter-American system. Some of the documents included, among others, are: the Charter of the OAS, the American Convention on Human Rights, and the American Declaration of Rights and Duties of Man. For Travaux Preparatoires information, see Part II Legislative History - binder volumes 2 and 3. The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights also has a compilation of the basic documents in the Inter-American System. This compilation includes the various declarations, conventions, and protocols that spell out the mandate and functions of the organs of the system, as well as the obligations of the Member States of the Organization of American States (“OAS”) in the field of human rights.

Conferencia Especializada Interamericana sobre Derechos Humanos, San José, Costa Rica 7-22 de noviembre de 1969, Actas y Documentos - Draft of the American Convention on Human Rights in Spanish. (OEA/Ser.K/XVI/1.2)

Die Amerikanische Deklaration der Rechte und Pflichten des Menschen. By: Grace Nacimiento / A commentary examining the evolution of the American Declaration of Human Rights and Duties, adopted in 1948 by the Organization of American States.

The travaux preparatoires for the American Declaration of the Rights and Duties of Man and the remote origins of the Inter-American Court is availaible via the National Autonomous University of Mexico.

Las declaraciones de derechos humanos de 1948, by Virginia Arango Durling. Includes bibliographical references of Spanish-language works.

The Articles of Agreement of the International Monetary Fund and the Articles of Agreement of the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development were drawn up at the United Nations Monetary and Financial Conference, Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, July 1-22, 1944, laying the foundations of a new post-WWII international economic order. Preliminary discussions on trade rules and tariffs started at the Conference and they paved the way for negotiations of the 1947 General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade. The travaux preparatoires are available in Chapter 6 of Interpretation by the Fund, by the International Monetary Fund (1968). doi: https://doi.org/10.5089/9781451939118.054. See also: Bitterman, Henry J. "Negotiation of the Articles of Agreement of the International Bank for Reconstruction and Developments." The International Lawyer 5, no. 1 (1971): 59-88, at http://www.jstor.org/stable/40704645; Gold, J. (1954). The Interpretation by the International Monetary Fund of Its Articles of Agreement. The International and Comparative Law Quarterly, 3(2), 256-276, at http://www.jstor.org/stable/755536; Gold, J. (1967). Interpretation by the International Monetary Fund of Its Articles of Agreement. II. The International and Comparative Law Quarterly, 16(2), 289-329, at http://www.jstor.org/stable/757379.

Additional resources: Proceedings and Documents of the Bretton Woods Conference / US: Department of State (1948); The Bretton Wood Transcripts / edited by Kurt Schuler and Andrew Rosenberg. Center for Financial Stability, 2013; Just before Bretton Woods: the Atlantic City Conference, June 1944 / Center for Financial Stability, 2019; other e-resources

Charter of the United Nations Commentary and Documents / By Leland M. Goodrich, Edvard Isak Hambro, and Anne Patricia Simons. 3rd Edition.

La charte des Nations unies : commentaire article par article / sous la direction de Jean-Pierre Cot et Alain Pellet ; secrétaire de rédaction, Mathias Forteau ; préfaces de Kofi Annan, Javier Pérez de Cuéllar. 2-volume commentary in French. Provides an article-by-article account of the legislative history.

Amerasinghe, C. (1966). The Charter Travaux Préparatoires and United Nations Powers to Use Armed Force. Canadian Yearbook of International Law/Annuaire Canadien De Droit International, 4, 81-101. doi:10.1017/S0069005800010614

The Charter of the United Nations A Commentary / Edited By: Brunno Simma et. all. Asst. Editor: Nikolai Wessendorf. / This is the authoritative, article-by-article account of the legislative history, interpretation, and practical application of each and every Charter provision. Written by a team of distinguished scholars and practitioners, this book combines academic research with the insights of practice, and is an indispensable work of reference for all those interested in the UN. The Commentary will be crucial in providing new directions for the development of international law and the United Nations in the twenty-first century.

The UN Audio-Visual Library of International Law provides a brief procedural history of the UN Charter and select preparatory documents that went into its drafting. Links to these preparatory documents are provided below.

Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide on 9 December 1948 / By Hirad Abtahi and Philippa Webb. This work gathers in a single publication the records of the meetings which, in the context of the post World War II United Nations, led to the adoption of the Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide. Procedural history, preparatory documents, and audiovisual references are also available at the UN Audiovisual Library of International Law. Of possible interest: Nathan A. Kurz (2021) “Hide a Fact Rather than State it”: The Holocaust, the 1940s Human Rights Surge, and the Cosmopolitan Imperative of International Law, Journal of Genocide Research, 23:1, 37-57, DOI: 10.1080/14623528.2020.1807833

Commentaries on arms control treaties. Vol. 1 / Stuart Maslen. (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2004) This commentary is a detailed guide to the interpretation of the 1997 Convention banning Anti-Personnel Mines, which was adopted after a worldwide campaign to ban landmines made famous by the late Princess Diana. It includes a description of the development of anti-personnel mines, their military utility, and the negotiating history of the Convention.

Travaux préparatoires of Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards (New York, 1958).

New York Convention : Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards of 10 June 1958 : commentary / edited by Reinmar Wolff ; with contributions by Christian Borris ... [et al.]. München, Germany : C.H. Beck ; Oxford, United Kingdom ; Portland, Ore. : Hart ; Baden-Baden, Germany : Nomos, c2012. The major instrument for international arbitration is the Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards (New York Convention) of June 10, 1958, which entered into force one year after. The New York Convention is labeled the Magna Carta of international arbitration and has been ratified by 144 States, including all of the important trading nations. The courts of any contracting State are required "to give effect to an agreement to arbitrate when seized of an action in a matter covered by an arbitration agreement and also to recognize and enforce awards made in other States, subject to specific limited exceptions" (UNCITRAL). In this book, the 16 articles of the Convention are dealt with in an article-by-article analysis, following a clear structure which swiftly guides the reader to the issue that he or she is engaged with.

Outside the EU procurement directives -- inside the Treaty? / Roberto Caranta & Dacian Dragos (eds.). Publication Information Copenhagen : DJØF Publishing, 2012. Distribution Information Portland, USA : International Specialized Book Services. / Most procurement contracts passed in the European Union escape the full rigor of the application of the 2004 directives, since they are either below the threshold or concern non-priority services. However, the Court of Justice has held that the general principles of non-discrimination and transparency apply to contracts which - because of their subject matter, value, or other characteristics - present a cross-border interest. EU Member States and procuring entities have been given some guidance - by the case law and the Commission - on what is needed to comply with the said principles, but for the most part they themselves have to fill in the blank spaces in the regulatory framework. This book provides information on how a number of relevant jurisdictions in the EU have responded to the call by the Court of Justice, highlighting both best practices and areas of uncertainties. A chapter on the EU legal framework and a number of comparative chapters help in understanding both the requirements imposed by the EU case law as well as the developing trends at the national level, which are to influence the next generation of procurement directives. (Series: European Procurement Law - Vol. 4)

Taking a case to the European Court of Human Rights / Philip Leach ; with a foreword by Nicolas Bratza. This book provides an explanation of the key principles underlying the European Convention on Human Rights before reaching an expanded and up-to-date article-by-article commentary on the substantive law of the European Convention, including derogation, reservation, and damages. The current edition has been fully revised to takeaccount of the changes introduced by Protocol 14 in 2010.

Collected edition of the "travaux préparatoires" of the European Convention on Human Rights = Recueil des travaux préparatoires de la Convention européenne des droits de l'homme / Council of Europe. In English and French. Volume 1 has title: Collected edition of the "travaux preparatoires." The European Court of Human Rights has published an online version of the travaux preparatoires on the European Convention on Human Rights. On the site are the various documents that were produced during the drafting of the Convention and its first Protocol. They contain reports of discussions in the Consultative Assembly and its Committee on Legal and Administrative Questions, as well as the Committee of Ministers and certain of its committees of experts.

Final record of the diplomatic conference convened by the Swiss Federal Council for the establishment of international conventions for the protection of war victims and held at Geneva from April 21st to August 12th, 1949.

Geneva Conventions Materials (Library of Congress Military Legal Resources). Includes travaux materials, reports and commentary on 1949 Geneva Conventions.

The foundations of modern international law on indigenous and tribal peoples : the preparatory documents of the Indigenous and Tribal Peoples Convention, and its development through supervision / by Lee Swepston. Publication Information Leiden ; Boston : Brill Nijhoff, [2015]-

Travaux préparatoires on the Inter-American Convention to Prevent and Punish Torture.

Berlingieri on arrest of ships: a commentary on the 1952 and 1999 Arrest Conventions. By Francesco Berlingieri ; foreword by Jean-Serge Rohart. Provides a detailed coverage of the 1952 and 1999 Conventions giving all the background information necessary to understand the provisions.

Guide to the travaux préparatoires of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights / By Marc J. Bossuyt ; preface by John P. Humphrey. Additional Sources: Daniel Turp, Guide to the “travaux préparatoires” of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (Book Review), 26 Canadian Yearbook of International Law 445-452. Hurst Hannum, Guide to the “Travaux préparatoires” of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (Book Review), 82 American Journal of International Law 680-682. Rita E. Hauser, The U.N. Decade for Women (Book Review); Guide to the “travaux préparatoires” of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (Book Review), 82 American Journal of International Law 682-684.

This website containts a variety of UNIDROIT's publications and documents, including travaux preparatoires

Every June, the International Labour Organization hosts the International Labour Conference in Geneva to craft conventions and policy recommendations. Linked below are the records of International Labour Conference sessions from 1997 to the present.

La paix de Versailles. Législation internationale du travail / Paris. Peace Conference, 1919. International Labor Legislation, Commission. Paris : Les éditions internationales, 1932. Consists of the minutes of proceedings of the commission, edited with supplementary documents, by A.G. de Lapradelle. Contents: I. Constitution, mandat, composition et travaux de la commission.-- II. Documents.--III. Conferénce des préliminaires de paix

La protection internationale du droit d'auteur: contribution aux travaux préparatoires de la Conférence diplomatique de Rome pour la révision de la Convention de Berne.  Title Translation: International copyright protection: contribution to the travaux préparatoires of the Rome Diplomatic Conference for the revision of the Berne Convention / International Institute of Intellectual Co-operation. 1928. The publication includes the text of the resolution adopted by the International Commission on Intellectual Co-operation [of the League of Nations] on the joint proposal of the Sub-Committee on Intellectual Rights and the Sub-Committee on Arts and Letters, followed by the Draft Text concerning the protection of the right to respect adopted by the Sub-Committee on Letters and Arts ... and intended to be the subject of a proposal to the Rome Diplomatic Conference for the revision of the Berne Convention .

Lugano Convention : Convention of Jurisdiction and the Enforcement of Judgments in Civil and Commercial Matters done at Lugano on 16 September 1988 = Convention de Lugano : Convention concernant la compétence judiciaire et l'exécution des décision en matière civile et commerciale faite à Lugano le 16 septembre 1988 = Übereinkommen von Lugano : Übereinkommen über die gerichtliche Zuständigkeit und die Vollstreckung gerichtlicher Entscheidungen in Zivil- und Handelssachen, geschlossen in Lugano am 16. September 1988. 2 volumes. I. Text and explanatory report. -- II. Travaux préparatoires

By Rudolf Dozer & Christoph Schreuer / This book outlines the principles behind the international law of foreign investment. The main focus is on the law governed by bilateral and multilateral investment treaties. It traces the purpose, context, and evolution of the clauses and provisions characteristic of contemporary investmenttreaties, and analyses the case law, interpreting the issues raised by standard clauses. Particular consideration is given to broad treaty-rules whose understanding in practice has mainly been shaped by their interpretation and application by international tribunals. In addition, the book introducesthe dispute settlement mechanisms for enforcing investment law, outlining the operation of Investor vs State arbitration.Combining a systematic analytical study of the texts and principles underlying investment law with a jurisprudential analysis of the case law arising in international tribunals, this book offers an ideal introduction to the principles of international investment law and arbitration, for students orpractitioners alike.

Title Translation: Draft Statute of the European Political Community: preparatory work 1952.

Ratificación del Acta Única Europea : trabajos preparatorios = Ratificering af den Europæiske fælles akt : forberedende arbejde = Ratification of the Single European Act : travaux préparatoires / Oficina de Publicaciones Oficiales de las Comunidades Europeas, 1993- . 4 volumes. Includes documents collected by the Library Division of the Court of Justice of the European Communities.

By Dinah Shelton & Paolo G. Carozza. The jurisprudence of the European and Inter-American Courts and decisions of the Inter-American and African Commissions are emphasized, including decisions on the interpretation and application of various human rights, procedural requirements, and remedies.

Report of the United Nations Conference on Environment and Development : Rio de Janeiro, 3-14 June 1992. New York : United Nations, 1993. v. 1. Resolutions adopted by the conference -- v. 2. Proceedings of the conference -- v. 3. Statements made by heads of state or government at the summit segment of the conference.

The Rio declaration on environment and development : a commentary / edited by Jorge E. Viñuales. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2015.

International protection of the environment : Agenda 21 & the UNCED Proceedings. Third Series / Nicholas A. Robinson, Editor with Parvez Hassan, Chairman, & Françoise Burhenne-Guilmin, Head. New York : Oceana Publications, Inc., c1992-<1993>. 6 volumes. The only complete documentation of the keystone of today's international environmental law, the final version of Agenda 21, with early drafts & iterations, background papers, proposed treaties, select nonpapers, UNCED proceedings and subsequent General Assembly debates. The text begins with the preparatory committee proceedings and extends through the Rio Earth Summit.

The slavery conventions : the travaux préparatoires of the 1926 League of Nations convention and the 1956 United Nations convention / by Jean Allain. Leiden ; Boston : Martinus Nijhoff Publishers, c2008. Procedural summary and related documents are also available at the UN Audiovisual Library.

The African Charter on Human and Peoples Rights The System in Practice 1986-2006 / edited by Malcolm Evans and Rachel Murray. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2008. The African Charter of Human and Peoples' Rights came into force in 1986, and is unique in that it lacks a precedent. However, little scholarship exists analysing it as an operational system in practice. The success of the first edition of this book led to this updated second edition. Contributors include experts who have been actively involved in the implementation of the Charter - commissioners, NGOs and academics. Offering a detailed evaluation of the Charter as a mechanism for the promotion and protection of human rights in Africa, the contributions cover the Charter's reporting system, the interpretation of different rights by the Commission, the prospects for the African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights and the role of NGOs. This authoritative and comprehensive volume will interest lawyers acting for government and non-governmental organisations, as well as academics and postgraduates.

Frans Viljoen, “The African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights: The Travaux préparatoires in the light of subsequent practice” (2004) 25 Human Rights Law Journal 313 – 326

By Paul Weis / This work provides the first authoritative commentary on articles 2-37 of the 1951 UN Convention on Refugees and is essential reading for practitioners, academics and researchers in the field of refugee protection. The Convention, which provides the basic definition and enshrines the rights of the refugee, remains the cornerstone of protection throughout the world. The commentary graphically illustrates the issues raised by the refugee problem for the International Community of the time and provides a valuable point of reference through the similarities it reveals to the issues arising out of many refugee questions today. It is a unique research resource containing comments and debates of representatives of those states who cooperated with the drafting of the Convention. The author's direct participation in the process which led to the adoption of the Convention by the UN has enabled him to provide an invaluable guide to the understanding of the text.

The Collected travaux préparatoires of the 1951 Geneva Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees / [compiled by] Alex Takkenberg, Christopher C. Tahbaz. Amsterdam : Published by the Dutch Refugee Council under the auspices of the European Legal Network on Asylum, 1989

The Travaux Préparatoires of the 1954 Convention Relating to the Status of Stateless Persons / Betsy L. Fisher. This volume presents, compiled and publicly available for the first time, the the travaux préparatoires of the 1954 Convention relating to the Status of Stateless Persons. The Convention's key contribution is defining who is stateless: "a person who is not considered as a national by any State under the operation of its law." This compilation's introduction provides the historical background and summarizes the key debates of the drafting process for the 1954 Convention. The volume compiles the drafting conference's discussions, draft proposals, and Final Act, with index and annex allowing comparison of the provisions across various drafts.

By Karen Da Costa. This book focuses on the treaties considerably jeopardized during the 'war on terror', namely the Inernational Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the European Convention on Human Rights, and the Convention against torture; it takes stock of the key developments informing the discussion to date, and crticially analyzes the ensuing interpretation of treaty provisions by monitoring bodies and state parties.

The International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights: Travaux Preparatoires / Edited by Ben Saul This book is the first collection of the drafting records of the one of the world's two foremost human rights treaties, the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (ICESCR) of 1966. It makes an important contribution to understanding the origins and meaning of economicand social rights, which were drafted over almost two decades years between 1947 and 1966. This book judiciously selects, and chronologically presents, the most important drafting documents or extracts thereof between 1947 and 1966.

The International Covenant on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights: A Perspective on its Development / By Matthew Craven / This study represents the first detailed examination of the origins and development of the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, drawing in particular upon the work of the United Nations Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights. The author addresses in detail particular aspects of the Covenant such as the role of the Committee in the supervision process, the nature of estate obligations, the principle of work discrimination, and the rights to work, to join and form Trade unions, to housing and to food. This original and scholarly work offers a timely examination of an increasingly significant human rights instrument, and will be of value to all those interested in human rights and international law.

Travaux preparatoires of the International Law Commission - print and online versions. The International Law Commission was established by the UN General Assembly in 1947, in order to facilitate the progressive development and codification of international law. This is the 7th edition of this two-volume publication which sets out a general introduction to the work of the Commission, including its origin and historical background; its organisation, programme and methods of work; specific topics considered by the Commission and actions decided upon the UN; and the text of relevant multilateral conventions

By Anna-Lena Svensson-McCarthy. This study demonstrates the extensive protection that international law provides to human rights even in the most serious of emergencies when they are particularly vulnerable. Based on a meticulous analysis of preparatory works and practice under the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, as well as the American and European Conventions on Human Rights, and with a special chapter on the International Labour Organisation's approach to international labour standards and emergencies, this book shows that respect for the rule of law and the concept of a democratic society are controlling parameters in any valid limitation on the enjoyment of human rights. It further shows that respect for human rights and the operation of institutions such as the Legislature and Judiciary are crucial to enabling societies to address and eventually remedy the root causes of emergency situations. The study recommends possible directions for the development of case law and suggests some practical means to help ensure that international legal requirements are in fact respected in emergencies.

On the Convention Respecting the Rights and Duties of Neutral Powers and Persons in case of War on Land. From the Nuremberg trials to the grisly campaign of "ethnic cleansing" in today's Bosnia, the world recognizes that certain actions are morally and legally unacceptable even in the midst of war. This book features extensive excerpts from treaties and charters that define the proper treatment of civilians, detainees, and POWs during wartime.

Compiled and edited by Michael F. Sturley with translations by Caroline Boyle

The International Criminal Court : the making of the Rome Statute--issues, negotiations, results / edited by Roy S. Lee ; in cooperation with the Project on International Courts and Tribunals. This publication is a collective work by a group of persons closely associated with the actual making of the Rome Statute. It covers the substantive & procedural issues raised during the preparatory stages as well as the Conference. These active participants in the Conference provide an account of the main contentions on each of the key issues, the divergent approaches put forward by the principal proponents, how differences were resolved, how groups of articles were prepared, & how the final text as a whole was assembled. All the authors served certain key functions during the Conference, most of them chaired or co-ordinated the work of a committee, a working group or a negotiating body, all of which together produced the Statute. Their professional account of the work of the Conference makes this publication a unique resource for States contemplating ratification & preparing national implementation legislation. This book gives the insiders' reportage of the negotiations that culminated in this momentous Statute.

See also: The legislative history of the International Criminal Court / edited by M. Cherif Bassiouni and William A. Schabas (2d revised and expanded edition. Leiden ; Boston : Brill Nijhoff, 2016)

Conference on the Establishment of an International Criminal Court, 1998. This 3-volume set presents the official records of the United Nations Diplomatic Conference of Plenipotentiaries on the Establishment of an International Criminal Court, which took place in Rome, 15 June-17 July 1998.

The Travaux Préparatoires of the Crime of Aggression / Edited by: Stefan Barriga and Claus Kress / The Travaux Prparatoires of the Crime of Aggression contains a complete documentation of the fifteen years of negotiations which led up to the historic adoption of the amendments to the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court at the 2010 Review Conference in Kampala. Arranged chronologically, it includes all relevant official Chairman's drafts, non-papers, country proposals, meeting reports and summary records, as well as selected unpublished materials and transcripts from the dramatic negotiations at the Review Conference. Three introductory articles, each written from the perspective of an insider, put the Kampala compromise into context and explore the amendments on the crime of aggression, their negotiation history and the intentions of the drafters.

The International Court of Justice / Robert Kolb. Oxford ; Portland, Oregon: Hart Publishing, 2013. Translation of R. Kolb's La Cour international de Justice (Paris, Pedone, 2013) by Alan Perry, Solicitor of the Senior Courts of England and Wales.This book examines the Statute of the International Court of Justice, its procedures, conventions and practices. It covers matters such as: the composition of the Court and elections, the office and role of ad hoc judges, the significance of the occasional use of smaller Chambers, jurisdiction, the law applied, preliminary objections, the range of contentious disputes which may be submitted to the Court, the status of advisory opinions, relationship to the Security Council, applications to intervene, the status of judgments and remedies.

The Statute of the International Court of Justice : a commentary / edited by Andreas Zimmermann, Christian Tomuschat, Karin Oellers-Frahm, Christian J. Tams; assistant editors, Maral Kashgar, David Diehl. Oxford, United Kingdom : Oxford University Press, 2012. Second edition.

The nuclear non-proliferation treaty: origin and implementation, 1959-1979 / by Mohamed I. Shaker. (Oceana, 1980) 3 volumes. Procedural history, preparatory documents, and audiovisual references are also available at the UN Audiovisual Library of International Law.

The Universal Declaration of Human Rights A History of Its Creation and Implementation 1948-1998 / By Glen M. Johnson and Janusz Symonides. Preface by: Federico Mayor. Fifty years after its adoption, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights remains a landmark document. Millions of people around the world lay claim to it every day even though they may not know the exact text and content. This book traces in detail the history of the creation of the Declaration, adopted by the General Assembly of the United Nations on 10 December 1948, and UNESCO's contribution to its implementation.

The Universal Declaration of Human Rights Its Origin, Significance, Application and Interpretation / By Nehemiah Robinson. The Universal Declaration of Human Rights was adopted by the General Assembly of the United Nations on Dec. 10, 1948. This book is a three-part commentary on the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. The first section focuses on the drafting of the declaration, whereas the second section discusses the significance of the declaration itself. Finally, the third section is a commentary and interpretation of the declaration article by article.

The Universal Declaration of Human Rights Origins, Drafting, and Intent / By Johannes Morsink. This work offers a behind-the-scenes account of the Declaration's origins and development. He reports on the detailed discussions that took place in the United Nations, tells us which countries argued for or against each provision of the Declaration, explains why certain important amendments were rejected, and shows how common revulsion toward the Holocaust provided the consensus needed to adopt this universal code of ethics.

The Universal Declaration of Human Rights : the travaux préparatoires / Edited by: William A. Schabas. Cambridge University 2013. A collection of United Nations documents associated with the drafting of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, these volumes facilitate research into the scope of, meaning of and intent behind the instrument's provisions. It permits an examination of the various drafts of what became the thirty articles of the Declaration, including one of the earliest documents - a compilation of human rights provisions from national constitutions, organised thematically. The documents are organised chronologically and thorough thematic indexing facilitates research into the origins of specific rights and norms. It is also annotated in order to provide information relating to names, places, events and concepts that might have been familiar in the late 1940s but are today more obscure.

Traité instituant la Communauté européenne du charbon et de l acier: État actuel des questions juridiques et de la jurisprudence. Bibliographie des travaux préparatoires, de la doctrine [et] de la jurisprudence, 1950-1957

Institut de droit international, travaux preparatoires de la session de 1879. Rapport sur l'extradition et sur les commissions rogatoires, en matiere penale. 

By: Christian Witkor. Foreword by: Robert E. Dalton, Leiden ; Boston : Martinus Nijhoff, 2006. / This legislative history follows the procedures established by the Senate, and it is based on primary legislative sources. The main part is arranged chronologically by the date of conclusion of the treaty. Each treaty contains the following components: it provides general information about the treaty; it lists chronologically steps taken by the Senate during the treaty approval process; legislative implementation, executive action, following Senate approval; entry into force, and annotations, such as references to related treaties, amendments, and present status. The use of the legislative history is facilitated by appendices and a detailed general index which includes: parties, regional subdivisions, and subjects.

The UNCITRAL arbitration rules : a commentary / David D. Caron, Lee M. Caplan, Matti Pellonpää. 1st ed. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006 and 2d ed. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2013. This is an article by article legal commentary on the UN Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) Rules which govern a wide range of ad hoc arbitrations, including the IRAN - US Claims Tribunal and NAFTA disputes. The greater flexibility offered by the UNCITRAL arbitration rules means that it is increasingly being favored as a dispute resolution mechanism by governments across the globe. The second edition includes an integrated and comparative discussion of the 2010 and 1976 UNCITRAL arbitration rules).

Each entry of the Historic Archives is devoted to a particular international convention legal instrument. It contains an introduction prepared by an eminent international law scholar or practitioner with special expertise on the subject, information on its procedural history and related documents, as well as the text and status of the instrument. Each legal instrument is accompanied by audiovisual materials, as available, including film footage, audio recordings and photos, relating to the negotiation and adoption of the instrument at meetings or diplomatic conferences.

United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea I, 1958: Official Records of Diplomatic Conferences. The mandate of the 1958 Conference on the Law of the Sea was to examine the law of the sea, taking account not only of the legal but also of the technical, biological, economic and political aspects of the problem, and to embody the results of its work in one or more conventions or other appropriate instruments. This website provides access to the official records of a series of diplomatic conferences, convoked by the United Nations in order to negotiate and adopt several treaties based on drafts worked out by the International Law Commission and considered by the Sixth (Legal) Committee of the General Assembly. The user is provided access by individual document, and the entire collection of proceedings is searchable in full-text format

United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea II, 1960: Official Records of Diplomatic Conferences. Subsequent to the adoption of the 1958 Conventions on the Law of the Sea, at the first United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea, the General Assembly requested the Secretary-General to convene a Second United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea to consider the topics of the breadth of the territorial sea and fishery limits. This website provides access to the official records of a series of diplomatic conferences, convoked by the United Nations in order to negotiate and adopt several treaties based on drafts worked out by the International Law Commission and considered by the Sixth (Legal) Committee of the General Assembly. The user is provided access by individual document, and the entire collection of proceedings is searchable in full-text format.

Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea : documents / compiled and edited by Renate Platzöder. Dobbs Ferry, N.Y. : Oceana Publications, 1982- . This series contains the only complete legislative history of UNCLOS III. Much of the material consists of proposals and papers from the various working and negotiating groups, organized in a continuum of how a text or section of convention was reached. See also book reviews by: 1. Koers, A. (1976). Netherlands International Law Review, 23(2), 225-225. doi:10.1017/S0165070X00017150 (Book Review) 2. Green, L. (1991). American Journal of International Law, 85(2), 408-410. doi:10.2307/2203087 (Book Review)

The Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea, 1973-1982: Official Records of Diplomatic Conferences. This website provides access to the official records of a series of diplomatic conferences, convoked by the United Nations in order to negotiate and adopt several treaties based on drafts worked out by the International Law Commission and considered by the Sixth (Legal) Committee of the General Assembly. The user is provided access by individual document, and the entire collection of proceedings is searchable in full-text format.

The United Nations Convention Against Corruption : a commentary / edited by Cecily Rose, Michael Kubiciel, Oliver Landwehr. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2019. Provides an article-by-article commentary of the United Nations Convention against Corruption (UNCAC), which entered into force in 2005. Each chapter discusses the relevant travaux préparatoires, the text of the final article, and examples of domestic implementing legislation.

Corruption: A Violation of Human Rights and a Crime Under International Law? / Martine Boersma. Cambridge, United Kingdom ; Antwerp [Belgium] ; Portland [Oregon] : Intersentia, [2012].

Travaux préparatoires of the negotiations for the elaboration of the United Nations Convention against Corruption

The United Nations Convention against Torture and its Optional Protocol : a commentary / edited by Manfred Nowak, Moritz Birk, Giuliana Monina. 2nd ed. Oxford, United Kingdom : Oxford University Press, 2019.

The UN Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination against Women : a commentary / Edited by Marsha A. Freeman, Christine Chinkin, & Beate Rudolf / This volume is the first comprehensive commentary on the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women and its Optional Protocol. The Convention is a key international human rights instrument and the only one exclusively addressed to women. It has been described as the United Nations' 'landmark treaty in the struggle for women's rights'. The Commentary describes the application of the Convention through the work of its monitoring body, the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women. It comprises detailed analyses of the Preamble and each article of the Convention and of the Optional Protocol, with travaux preparatoires. It also includes a separate chapter on the cross-cutting substantive issue of violence against women. The sources relied on are the treaty language and the general recommendations, concluding observations and case law under the Optional Protocol, through which the Committee has interpreted and applied the Convention. Each chapter is self-contained but the Commentary is conceived of as an integral whole. The book also includes an Introduction which provides an overview of the Convention and its embedding in the international law of human rights.

A commentary on the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child / by Sharon Detrick. The Hague ; Boston : M. Nijhoff Publishers, c1999. (ISBN 9041112294). This book provides a commentary on the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child, which was adopted by the General Assembly of the United Nations on 20 November 1989. Part One contains a general introduction to the Convention on the Rights of the Child, and deals with matters such as the drafting history, the contents, direct application, horizontal effects, limitations, the Committee on the Rights of the Child, and the Conventions final provisions. Part Two contains an article-by-article commentary, the aim of which is not to give an interpretation of the precise nature and scope of States parties obligations but, rather, to identify the materials, or sources, which provide guidance in that regard. In the identification of such materials, attention has been paid to the general rules of treaty interpretation, as set forth in the Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties.

The UN Convention on the Rights of the Child : a commentary / edited by John Tobin. First edition.Oxford :Oxford University Press, 2019.

The United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child : a guide to the "Travaux préparatoires" / compiled and edited by Sharon Detrick ; contributors, Jaap Doek and Nigel Cantwell ; with a preface by Jan Martenson. (ISBN 0792316711) Dordrecht ; Boston : M. Nijhoff, c1992.

Commentary on the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child. Leiden ; Boston : Martinus Nijhoff. Law Library has print volumes on Articles 2-9,14-15, 17, 20, 24, 26-28, 31-34, 37-38, 40, 43-45. Search by Series Title: " Commentary on the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child". Some volumes are online.

Legislative history of the Convention on the Rights of the Child / Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights. (ISBN 9789211541779) New York : United Nations, 2007. 2 volumes.

The Paris Climate Agreement : analysis and commentary / edited by Daniel Klein, María Pía Carazo, Meinhard Doelle, Jane Bulmer, Andrew Higham. Oxford University Press, 2017. Part I discusses the general context for the Paris Agreement 2016, detailing the scientific, political, and social drivers behind it, providing an overview of the pre-existing regime, and tracking the history of the negotiations. Part II comprises individual chapters on each Article of the Agreement, with detailed commentary of the provisions which highlights central aspects from the negotiating history and the legal nature of the obligations. See Table of Contents below.

La mise en oeuvre du protocole de Kyoto en Europe : interactions des contrôles international et communautaire / By Anne-Sophie Tabau ; préface, Sandrine Maljean-Dubois. Bruxelles: Bruylant ; Paris : CERIC, 2011. This book examines the negotiation and application of the Kyoto Protocol in Europe. The Kyoto Protocol was adopted on 11 December 1997. Owing to a complex ratification process, it entered into force on 16 February 2005. Specifically, the work analyzes the capacity and credibility of the Protocol and considers possible changes to the regime that could help combat climate change.

A searchable database of the travaux preparatoires of the core human rights agreements assembled by UVA law librarians, faculty and alumni. The website has extensive subject search capability and provides linkage to full-text official UN documents comprising the drafting histories of the nine major Conventions: International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (ICERD), 1965 International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR), 1966 International Covenant on Economic Social and Cultural Rights (ICESCR), 1966 -- Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW), 1979 -- Convention against Torture and Other Cruel Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, 1984 -- Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC), 1989 -- International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families, 1999 -- Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, 2006 --International Convention on the Protection of All Persons from Enforced Disappearance, 2006

Official Records of the UN Conference on Consular Relations (Vienna, 4 March – 22 April 1963), including Summary records of plenary meetings and of the meetings of the First and Second Committees (Vol. I), and Annexes (Vol. II) are available in print (Morris Call Number: JXYZ C765 v. 1 and v. 2), electronically at HeinOnline, and at the UN Codification Division Publications website. Procedural history and related documents and audiovisual references can be found at the UN Audiovisual Library of International Law. See also, Vienna Convention on Consular Relations: with texts and commentaries on Vienna convention on diplomatic relations, 1961, United States-Soviet consular convention, 1964, Draft European convention on consular functions, by Luke T. Lee. (Morris Call Number: KZ1242 .L44 1966)

Official Records of the UN Conference on Diplomatic Intercourse and Immunities (Vienna, 2 March to 14 April 1951), including Summary records of plenary meetings and of the meetings of the Committee of the Whole (Vol. I), and Annexes (Vol. II) are available at HeinOnline and at the UN Codification Division Publications website. Procedural history and related documents and audiovisual references can be found at the UN Audiovisual Library of International Law.

Official Records of the UN Conference on Succession of States in Respect of State Property, Archives, and Debts, 1983 (Vienna, 1 March to 8 April 1983), including Summary records of plenary meetings and of the meetings of the Committee of the Whole (Vol. I), and Annexes (Vol. II) are available at HeinOnline and at the UN Codification Division Publications website. Procedural history and related documents and audiovisual references can be found at the UN Audiovisual Library of International Law.

Official Records of the UN Conference on Succession of States in Respect of Treaties (Vienna, 1977-1978), including Summary records of plenary meetings and of the meetings of the Committee of the Whole for the 1977 Session (Vol. I), Summary records of plenary meetings and of the meetings of the Committee of the Whole for the 1978 Resumed Session (Vol. II), and Annexes (Vol. III) are available in print (Morris Call Number: KZ4041 .U55 1978 oversize) or electronically at HeinOnline and at the UN Codification Division Publications website. Procedural history and related documents and audiovisual references can be found at the UN Audiovisual Library of International Law.

The law of treaties; a guide to the legislative history of the Vienna convention/ Shabtai Rosenne. Dobbs Ferry: Oceana. 1970. "The authentic text of each article of the Vienna Convention ... is furnished in the working languages of the Conference: English, French and Spanish."

Vienna convention on the law of treaties : travaux préparatoires = Die Wiener Vertragsrechtskonvention : Materialien zur Entstehung d. einzelnen Vorschr. / Compiled by: Ralf Günter Wetzel. Edited and prefaced by: Dietrich Rauschning. This work is a compilation of travaux preparatoires for the Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties.

Official Records of the UN Conference on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 26 March–24 May 1968 and 9 April–22 May 1969), including Summary records of plenary meetings and of the meetings of the Committee of the Whole for the first (Vol. I) and second sessions (Vol. II), and Documents of the Conference (Vol. III) are available in print (Morris Call Number: KZ1298.2 2001) or electronically at HeinOnline and at the UN Codification Division Publications website. Procedural history and related documents and audiovisual references can be found at the UN Audiovisual Library of International Law.

Conference on the Law of Treaties between States and International Organizations or between International Organizations, 1986

Official Records of the UN Conference on the Representation of States in their Relations with International Organizations (Vienna, 4 Feb - 14 March 1975), including Summary records of plenary meetings and of the meetings of the Committee of the Whole (Vol. I), and Annexes (Vol. II) are available in print (Morris Call Number: JXYZ R29) or electronically at HeinOnline and at the UN Codification Division Publications website.

The Vienna Conventions on the Law of Treaties : a commentary / Edited by Olivier Corten, Pierre Klein. New York : Oxford University Press, 2011. The 2-volume set includes article-by-article analysis of the 1969 Convention and the 1986 Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties between States and International Organizations or between International Organizations (1986).

An online resource comprising the written records generated during the negotiations for the WIPO-administered treaties including the WIPO Convention.