Get Research Help

Welcome to the Law Library! The research librarians are available to assist Yale Law School and Yale University students, faculty, and staff. We offer a variety of research services, including research consultations, research training, and research assistance when you are writing a paper, serving on the law review, working in a clinic or as a research assistant. We also offer several legal research classes.

We can be reached in several ways:

  • Please contact the team of research librarians via email anytime at reference.law@yale.edu (please add "ref @ law-yale.libanswers.com" to your contact list to help ensure our response goes to your inbox).
  • To schedule an in-person consultation with us, fill out this LibCal form. You must have an '@yale.edu' email address. 
  • To schedule a virtual consultation with us, fill out this LibCal form. You must have an '@yale.edu' email address. 
  • Stop by the reference desk on L3 in the main reading room: M-F, 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM EST.

Visitors who wish to access a specific collection should contact a Reference Librarian for an appointment.

The Lillian Goldman Law Library is a United States Federal Depository Library. Those who wish to access our government documents collection should contact a Reference Librarian for an appointment.

Please direct all media inquiries to the Yale Law School Office of Public Affairs.

Access to study space and facilities at the library is limited to current YLS students. A publicly accessible law library is located nearby at the New Haven Superior Court:

235 Church St.
New Haven, CT 06510
203) 503-6828

Further information on free and low-cost legal help in Connecticut, along with lists of public law libraries, is available via the Law Librarians of New England's Legal Link website.

We look forward to hearing from you, 
The LGLL Research and Instruction Team

Contact a Research Librarian

Julian Aiken
Digital Repository & Open Scholarship Librarian
Room 311 (L3)
julian.aiken@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9616
Rachel Gordon
Director of Library Operations 
Room 301 (L3)
rachel.gordon@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-8542
Julie Krishnaswami
Head of Research Instruction and Lecturer in Legal Research
Room 307 (L3)
julie.krishnaswami@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-7934
Evelyn Ma
Reference Librarian for Foreign and International Law and Lecturer in Legal Research
Room 0004 (L1)
evelyn.ma@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-7120
Nicholas Mignanelli
Head of Reference, Research Librarian, and Lecturer in Legal Research
Room 308 (L3)
nicholas.mignanelli@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-8153
Steven Mitchell
Research and Instruction Librarian
steven.mitchell@yale.edu
John Nann
Senior Librarian for Reference, Instruction, and Collection Development and Lecturer in Legal Research
Room 314A (L3)
john.nann@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1259
Lucie Olejnikova
Associate Director for Foreign and International Law and Lecturer in Legal Research
Room 0005 (L1)
lucie.olejnikova@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-7371
Nor Ortiz
Technology and Research Librarian
nor.ortiz@yale.edu
Michael VanderHeijden
Associate Director for Scholarly and Research Services
Room 313 (L3)
michael.vanderheijden@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-4367
Leviell Waits
Associate Librarian for Public Services
leviell.waits@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1848