Historical American Legal Research
Access Newspaper Archive
A database of over 50 million pages of newspaper articles mostly from small-town newspapers throughout the United States in the 1800s and 1900s.
Accessible Archives
Accessible Archives provides a searchable collection of American newspapers from the 18th & 19th centuries. Eras covered include the Colonial Period, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, African-American History, Industrial Revolution, and Genealogy.
America's Historical Newspapers
1690-1922 including Early American Newspapers Series 1 - 5
American Broadsides & Ephemera, Series I, 1760-1900
American Broadsides and Ephemera, based on the American Antiquarian Society's collection, offers searchable facsimile images of broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
American Periodicals
Contains over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Archive Finder
Archive Finder is a current directory which describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
Archive Grid
Locate relevant research institutions, arrange visits, or request copies from libraries, museums, and archives worldwide.
British Periodicals
Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
Century of lawmaking
From the Library of Congress; page images of material related to the Constitutional Convention (Journals of the Continental Congress, Letters of Delegates to Congress, Elliot's Debates, and Farrand's Records) and Congressional material to 1875.
Early American Imprints, Series I (Evans)
Early American Imprints, Series I (1639 - 1800) is based on the American Bibliography by Charles Evans and the Early American Imprint Series I.
Early American Imprints, Series II (Shaw-Shoemaker)
Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century.
English Short Title Catalog (ESTC)
The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists over 480,000 items published between 1473 and 1800 mainly, but not exclusively, in English published mainly in the British Isles and North America from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries.
The Making of Modern Law
Legal Treatises, 1800-1926, Contains legal treatises published from 1800-1926, from the Nineteenth-Century Legal Treatises and Twentieth-Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections.
Primary Sources, 1620-1926 (I)
Primary Sources: Part I, 1620-1926: Contains more than 1,300 individual titles consisting of about 2,225 volumes sourced chiefly from the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale University, with additional materials provided by the Law Library of Congress. Its 1.8 million pages span over 300 years of legal primary sources, such as early U.S. state codes, municipal codes, constitutional conventions and compilations, and other documents, many of which have heretofore only been available as bound volumes or in microfilm.
Primary Sources, 1763-1970 (II)
Primary Sources, Part II, 1763-1979: Extends this acclaimed archive into the second half of the twentieth century with more than 1.6 million newly scanned pages drawn from the three world-class American law libraries: the Harvard Law School Library, the Yale Law Library, and the Law Library of Congress. Comprised of United States codes, constitutional conventions and compilations, and municipal codes, Part II enhances scholarly access to essential documents in American legal history and is fully cross-searchable with Primary Sources, Part I.
Trials, 1600-1926. The database includes texts mainly from the US, the UK, and France. Also included are court documents, briefs, and argument transcripts from the New York City Bar Library.
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926.
Immense collection of works about the Americas from about the time of European contact into the 20th century.
The Making of America
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from antebellum through reconstruction, including books, journals, and original manuscripts.
The Making of the Modern World
The Goldsmiths'- Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850 (formerly The Making of the Modern Economy) provides digital facsimile images on every page of works of literature on economic and business published in Europe and North America from 1450 through 1850.